RV.Net Open Roads Forum: How do you turn on the Furnace?

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes

> How do you turn on the Furnace?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
motorhead777

VA

View Profile

Posted: 01/16/09 03:33pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I purchased a 1996 Fleetwood Tioga Montara RV, and I am new to RV'ing. I want to see if my furnace is working, but I have no idea how to turn on the furnace. Here are some things I know about my RV's furnace and propane system:

1) It is a forced air unit
2) I have a propane tank that is half full and the valve is turned off.
3) I have thermostat in the bedroom part of the RV
4) I know where the furnace is located on the outside of the RV
5) There is a propane detector near the front door of the RV and it is off.

I am looking for some general instructions to light my furnace and see if it will heat the RV. Here are some of the more specific questions I have:

1) Is it just a matter of opening the propane tank valve and lighting the burner inside the furnace?
2) Do I light the furnace with a match or is there a device that does it for me? I know the stove has a device that will light the burners.
3) To put the RV back into storage mode do I only need to turn the propane valve to the off position?
4) If I am out on the road and I turn the propane tank on and light the furnace can I drive around with the propane tank valve open? Is there a pilot light or something in the furnace that keeps it in ready mode?