Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: 40 to 45-foot 5th Wheelers - Pro's & Con's - Your advice is appreciated.

Posted By: skigalini on 11/12/03 12:18pm

I'm a contractor/manager/engineering type. I wish to get a larger 5th wheel, say between 40 to 45 feet in length. Some of these have a 2 bedroom which would more comfortably accommodate my wife and kids for longer visits while I am at my assignment locations.

Can anyone please present the pro's and con's of these larger, longer fifth wheels? Also, I have some more specific questions:

(1) What states are the 40-ft and longer 5th wheel RV's restricted?
(2) Do I require a CDL or special license to operate?
(3) My F250 6.0L Diesel is not a dually. Does that make any difference?
(4) Is it common for some state parks and RV parks have length restrictions.
(5) Is there anyone who has upgraded from a smaller (for instance a 33-footer) to a 45 footer?

I don't want to make a mistake getting rid of a nice 93-model 33' fifth wheel if the upgrade to the larger one is more hassel than it's worth.

Thanks ... Scott
My 2003 F250 Centennial Larriat 6.0L Die........hitch in back without the camper shell).

Scott Shamblin
Displaced Texan Living In Canada F250 Lariat Centennial FX4 6.0L Powerstroke Diesel 4-Door Superduty Crewcab. Picture shows a cap on the bed. Now has a roll-away jackrabbit cover concealing a Hidden-Hitch 18K 5th wheel hitch in back.
Truck is stunning and runs unbelievable with or without a load.Scott's F250 Centennial Lariat
Loaded With Everything Available

Posted By: Mirage3250 on 11/12/03 12:34pm

Without getting into specific trailers my initial thought would be that a 40' to 45' would be to much for your F250. Not just for the gross weight, but, I would suspect the hitch weights would be up there also.
Just an opinion, but I wouldn't want to tow anything that long without a dually.