RV.Net Open Roads Forum: How do I wire 30 amp electric service to new garage

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > How do I wire 30 amp electric service to new garage

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
tom_kat

way upstate new york/lake george area

Senior Member

Joined: 02/28/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 10:06am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

if you have no power to the garage depending on how far the run would be would depend on the size of wire,i wired my garage up for 60 amp 220 service from my 200 amp breaker box in the house,ran the cable under ground to a breaker box in the garage and ran my 30 amp cable off of that,have a small workshop out there and the extra power comes in handy,30 amps isnt much for a garage,best to have some one that knows how to do it,do it for you,if you have cable tv or phone in the house might as well run that to while your doing it,mines hooked up for everything comes in handy ,doesnt cost much compaired to haveing power run out there,throw all the cables in the same ditch,


1985 Class A Holiday Rambler Imperial 33 +1979 Class C Holiday Rambler Statesman 1000 = 24 ft


Steve Val

Montverde,Fl

Senior Member

Joined: 05/18/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 10:15am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rgraham wrote:

If you have to ask that question about how to wire 30 amp maybe you should get a electrician to do it for you, may save you money in the long run, are maybe get a buddy that knows how to run wire to a
receptacle, don't play around with electric if you don't know what you are doing, it isn't fore-giving,,,,, Richard


Be careful with having an electrician do it as well - there have been several postings where someone had an electrician do it, and the wired it up like a dryer outlet - not quite the same thing...

Steve


05 Revolution LE40E

Big Katuna

Deland, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 12/27/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 10:16am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There have been several threads on the forum about how the professional electrician wired the 30 amp plug up to 220, like a stove, and caused lots of damage. No panacea there. If you have replaced a receptacle or installed a ceiling fan and understand the seriousness of what you are doing, understand that you need good tight physical connections, use the correct wire size and use a little common sense, you can safely do it.


My Kharma ran over my Dogma.

Jim@HiTek

Gresham, OR, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/17/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 10:28am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Go here for pictures of house & RV style 30A & 50A connections.

30A, 50A info


Jim@HiTek
Have shop, will travel!
Visit my travel & RV repair blog site. Subscribe for emailed updates.
Winnebago Journey, '02
Cat 330HP Diesel, 36.5', two slides.

Kenneth

Washington, the state

Senior Member

Joined: 03/20/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 10:31am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A 30 amp RV circuit requires a single pole 30 amp circuit breaker in the service panel, 10/2 cable (bigger for long runs), and a NEMA TT-30 receptacle in a weathertight box.

A 50 amp RV circuit requires a double pole 50 amp circuit breaker in the service panel, 6/3 cable, and a NEMA 14-50 receptacle.

If you want 30 amp upgradeable to 50 amp, run the 6/3 cable, the single pole 30 amp breaker, and the NEMA TT-30 receptacle. It is easy in the future to install the 50 amp two pole breaker and NEMA 14-50 receptacle.


Ken


I'm free of prostate cancer for 5 years now.
All men over age 50 should get an annual PSA blood test. Mine had a low reading, but the yearly jump was significant. The biopsy showed cancer just entering the aggressive stage. Dr. Hackenslash removed it.


jwharris_95758

Sacramento, Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 07/13/2004

View Profile



Posted: 10/31/05 11:01am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well I don't know about wiring it up. One thing I never do myself is electricity. Its just to dangerous. But Home Depot sells a TT-30 Nema plug in a very nice box already wired up, it from Connecticut Electrical. It looks real nice and it cost abotu 15 bucks, but let a pro install it.


2000 Suburban LS 5.3L 4.10 Gears
2003 28' Trail-lite 8283S

Tsalla Apopka

Crystal River, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 06/04/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 11:55am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

In the electrical dept at Home Depot in a box is an item called an RV Hookup which has the receptacle and the housing in one package. Many of their associates don't know about it, just make them keep looking.


Denny & Karen
Florida's Beautiful "Nature Coast"
Brit,TDI,BH & Claire,TDI (Belgian Sheepdogs)
Merlot - Sheltie rescue
Glady(Morgan Mare - retired),Toes & Beemer(Barn Cats-retired)
WA4OMG (Old Mangy Goat)

dennis and terry

wisconsin

Senior Member

Joined: 05/25/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 12:04pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

you didn't say if your new garage has power itself. if not, i recommend installing a 100A service panel in the garage then branching the RV circuit off of this panel. i'm sure you'll be using electrical equipment in the garage and it will make installing a 50A easier when you upgrade your RV. this is not a job for DIY or your brother-in-law either. get a licensed electrican and make sure he pulls a permit. called CYA...


dennis and terry
2000 damon intruder 349 (The Boo-mobile)
cats Hunter and Jazz
dog Abigail (newly adopted from humane society)
1995 Saturn wagon toad

FredC

cincinnati, oh

Senior Member

Joined: 07/15/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 01:06pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would call an electrician. If you aren't sure of what you are doing, electricity will kill you or burn your home and RV and you

NDBBM

Rockville, MD

New Member

Joined: 10/09/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/05 01:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rgraham wrote:

Yeah I know, I been their I been their I been their, 120 amp not bad
but 220 amp will burn,,,,,,,,

You did mean volts right? Either one of those amperages will kill you in a heartbeat, or less. Now if you want to feel hurt, grab the back of a color tv tube that has a bad ground. 20+ kv REALLY set you back in your chair. Happened to just about everyone in TV lab at the tech school I went to. I got lucky(I guess) and got hit by the B/W set. it was only around 12kv. Still hurt pretty bad though. Remember, volts hurt amps kill.


2006 Winnebago Sightseer 29R on the Ford chassis

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > How do I wire 30 amp electric service to new garage
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS