|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

> Frozen Black Holding Tank .. need advice

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
CTRVers

Farmington, CT

View Profile

Posted: 12/15/05 06:42am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am pretty new to this, and have been RVing for 3-4 years. I normally winterize my motorhome early, but was not able to do so in November this year, and suddenly the cold weather came along. I tried to winterize it yesterday, but have the following problems:

- Handles for dumping tanks are frozen
- I poured antifreeze in the water tank, but it won't flow thru the faucets.
- I am afraid the black and the gray tanks are pretty frozen; black tank reads 2/3 full, and gray tank reads 1/3 full.

Any ideas? I hope one of the more experienced RVers here can give me some advice.

P.S. I do have a furnace, which I turned on, but I am afraid it does not thaw out (or keep warm) the holding tanks.

Thanks for anyone who can help, and happy holidays to everyone.

BillArf

NY and Florida

View Profile

Posted: 12/15/05 06:53am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well, you already know you screwed up big time. Not only are your tanks frozen but undoubtedly your water lines also. Hopefully you have no permanent damage. Temps are very low in NY and CT these last few days. Temps are expected to stay low. ONLY WAY you will get that rig to defrost is to get it in a heated garage for a 2 or 3 days.