Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Atwood Water Heater Won't Ignite

Posted By: fishlip on 09/25/06 08:54am

Overnight, our water heater went out (it's an Atwood G6A-8E). The water heater indicator over the range shows "on" and we have plenty of propane, however the water heater will not heat. Upon inspection outside, there is no sound coming from the heater. It's as if it were off. It just will not ignite.

Please give suggestions as how I can determine the problem and repair it. I am brand new to rv-ing.

Thanks!

Posted By: enblethen on 09/25/06 09:17am

The light for your DSI water heater should not be on after the ignition cycle.
If the light remains on, that is a trouble light. It indicates the the heater has failed.
Try checking connections on circuit board by removing four pin connector and clean contacts on board.
Next clean ground wire connection on the gas valve. There should be two wires connected together that goes to the gas valve coils (two) and then to ground.

Bud
USAF Retired
Suzuki XL7 pushing Pace Arrow

Posted By: Don Don on 09/25/06 09:53am

Is the swithch on the blower in the on position?

Posted By: ScottnSherrie on 09/25/06 10:01am

Don Don wrote:

Is the swithch on the blower in the on position?

A blower on a water heater?

88 Gulf Stream 34' Sun Vista, Ford 460, Edelbrock Perfomer carb, Thorley headers
Ford F-250 crew cab 4X4, 6.0 turbo diesel
complete roof rebuild
daughter 19, son 16
US Army Desert Storm vets (both of us)
left: The Ol' Gal right: DW with White Lightnin'

Posted By: ejforwood on 09/25/06 10:33am

Had the same problem. Shut off the switch, Clean around the pilot, burner and flue. Sometimes just blowing on the area and then turning the switch back on will allow it to relight.

Jerry & Dottie
98 Bounder 34V, 99 F-53 Ford V10 chassis
06 Saturn VUE 4I

Posted By: Jeffe on 09/25/06 11:34am

Atwood Trouble Shooting Guide

Two of the simplest things: