Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Florida Sales Tax?

Posted By: AZGarfield on 07/19/08 08:35pm

Hello
I am an Arizona resident and looking to buy a vehicle that is in Florida. I am buying from a private party in Florida and the vehicle will be registered to my Arizona address. The seller has mentioned that in Florida there is a 6% sales tax. But the information I am finding online seems to relate only to dealer sales being taxed. Can someone (that knows better than I) help me out so I understand what I should do? I did not plan to register in Florida as I once I took possession, I can go online and print out a temporary 30 day Arizona tag and use it until I get home with the vehicle. Thanks in advance.

* This post was edited 07/20/08 02:02pm by AZGarfield *

Garfield, DW & Future MLB Pro
2004 Gulf Stream Conquest 6725 27.5' Class C

Posted By: The Texan on 07/19/08 08:50pm

Private sales in FL are required to pay the sales tax, BUT only when sold to a resident and registered in Florida. In your case you will not be required to pay FL, but will owe whatever AZ charges.

Bob & Betsy(FishNFanatic) - USN Aviation Ret'd '78 & LEO Ret'd '03 & "Oath Keeper Forever"
'05 HR Endeavor 40PRQ, 400 Cummins-Pulling our '11 Silverado LT, Ex Cab 6.2L NHT 4x4, w/'10 Rzr or '13 Suzuki 500 riding in back.
Where the wheels are stopped today

Posted By: Kajtek1 on 07/20/08 12:04am

In all states I've been buying cars so far (haven't in Florida yet) the law is the same. Buyer pays sale tax per his/her county rate.
That can be collected by selling dealer (in full, or partly), or since the tax rates makes thick book, most common that buyer pays the tax with the registration in the county of new registration.
Having 2 addresses in California I saved $200 registering used car at my second address.
The easiest $200 I ever made.

Posted By: Lovedays on 07/19/08 08:57pm