RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Smells like a scam--what do you think?

RV Community

  |  

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

RV Dealers

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

RV.net
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Smells like a scam--what do you think?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Next
CurtisG

Vinton, Louisiana

Full Member

Joined: 07/23/2007

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:04am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

After responding to a posting on rvtraderonline this is the response I received by email:
"Thank you so much for your response and for your interest in buyin my motorhome.
Yes, I still have it for sale.
Price is $34,000.00, a full fuel tank for your way back home included too.
It is stored inside, in Lafayette.
Title is clear, on my name. No lien on it.
No accidents, leaks, damages, or any other issues. It is very well maintained and extremely clean.
30k miles on it, still under warranty.
You can view more pictures here:

http://www.ephotospace.com/seeya/ViewPhotos.aspx?cid=6604&pid=1


It is a 2004 38' See Ya Diesel Pusher With 2 Slide Outs
By Alfa Model M-36 FD
Freightliner Chassis
3126 CAT 330 HP Turbocharged Diesel Engine
6 Speed Allison Transmission
Washer & Dryer Combo
All Equipment Works Excellent.
Coach Looks, Runs, Drives And Handles Excellent.
Exterior & Interior Are In Excellent Condition." and this one:
"Thank you for your fast response.
The rig has been in my family since new, it was my father's, he passed
away and I owe it.
I have the title clear, on my name.
I am in the military, I cannot take care of the rig as my father did,
I have some debts to pay fast, I also signed a 6 months contract for
Afghanistan and will be leaving there in less than a month, so I am
selling it.
I can take 5 days off and meet you, see the rig and papers, test drive
it, inspect it at a service or dealership and if as expected, we close
the deal.
Also, please excuse me if I won't be able to response immediate to
your emails or calls, but I work 80 plus a week and cannot take calls
during work or get access to my email.
Anyway, you have my word that I will try to do my best to make things
work out between us.
I can be in Lafayette in a 2 days notice, so we can set up a meeting
at your proposal.
I would also like to fly up there one day before, so I can prepare
everything and to pick you up form the airport.
Just please let me know your answer for sure, because I have to take a
permit in order to leave the base and do not wish to make the trip for
nothing, as I did 2 weeks ago, when the buyer did not even show up to
our meeting. When I called him, he just mentioned that his loan was
not approved and he is unable to buy my rig.
My # is 3372050149, as I mentioned, I may not be able to take any
calls during work, if so please email me all your requests and will
respond as soon as I have access to ym email."

As I have always heard--if it sounds to good to be true-beware

Curt


CurtisG
2003 34' Allegro Bay
WH(W22)/GM8.1/Allison

jbbrick

Northern Calif

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2002

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:08am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it walks like a duck....

Always watch out for the English syntax errors and speech mannerisms. This for sure sounds like a phony.

Gdlow

Meridian Idaho

Senior Member

Joined: 05/03/2005

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:13am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have him send the Vin number so you can do a check on it...


Gary And Cathy
'05 Dolphin 5342
Honda Element following us
GS, FMCA 365597
Rallys attended
FMCA Albany, Or.'06
FMCA Redmond, Or.'07


oldcurios

The South

Senior Member

Joined: 10/25/2006

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 09:16am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Never heard of someone in the military signing a "6 month contract for afghanistan". You go where they send you.

Wouldn't be interested. Also wouldn't be interested in an Alfa See-Ya.

CurtisG

Vinton, Louisiana

Full Member

Joined: 07/23/2007

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:18am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I failed to mention in my initial post that I emailed him and asked for a copy of the title so I could run a carfax on it. So far I haven't received a reply-probably won't!

Curt

brobox

Sunny SW. Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 11/18/2003

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 09:19am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This has gone around before, it is a scam. Do a search here and you will see that someone researched this a few months ago, it's the same ad.


Chuck
02 Travel Supreme, 2 street side slides
02 Jeep Liberty Toad

The Texan

Summer: A Cool Climate Winter: A Warm Climate

Senior Member

Joined: 01/16/2004

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 09:22am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not everyone in the United states speaks or write perfect English, as some seem to think everyone should. This person appears to live in Cajun country and may very well be of French decent, so English would not be his strong point. The ad sounds legit to me and if you get a VIN to run and checkout with the LA authorities, then you should have your answer.


Bob & Betsy - USN Ret'd '78 & FL LEO Ret'd '03 & FT Class of 2003
'05 HR Endeavor 40PRQ, 400 Cummins -With-'05 GMC Sierra SLT, CC, Z-71, the pusher & our '07 Arctic Cat 500A & '08 Suzuki KQ 400A, riding in the pusher.
Where the wheels are stopped


1995brave

San Antonio, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 01/24/2006

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:24am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If i remember correctly a while back on this forum or on IRV2 RV forum someone posted the same email about someone selling their RV and going overseas and asking if it was a scam or not. I think they found out it was a scam, traced back the email address and found it came from overseas.

travelinsally

Albany,NY

Full Member

Joined: 07/28/2003

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 09:25am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Be VERY,VERY careful. I could be fine,but is the possibility of losing $34K worth the chance?????


June & Jim (retired) NY
Our 2 cats (Jessi & Buddy)
2000 Jayco Designer Class C 32ft.
2007 Saturn Vue,


chuck4788

West of the Middle

Senior Member

Joined: 05/10/2006

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:25am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The seller's response is pretty good but with a few clues; you don't need a "permit" to leave a military base, no one works 80 plus hours a week for any length of time like the seller claims, and in most states the transfer of personal property with a title from a deceased person requires some kind of probate action involving a court of law. The lack of email access also sound phony. When will the seller ask you for a deposit?

If the MH is as the seller claims he could make a quick no hassle sale to a dealer for a little less than trade in value and avoid dealing with buyers and all of the disruptions to his very heavy work schedule.


Chuck
02 Beaver
505hp C12 Cat
Trailblazer toad


This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Smells like a scam--what do you think?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2009 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS