RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Smells like a scam--what do you think?

RV Community

  |  

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

RV Dealers

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Smells like a scam--what do you think?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev  |  Next
Class A Motorhomes Related Tips
Jim & Joan

Milton, WI Lake Suzy, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/24/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 11:25am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Same as this one

SCAM





mike4947

N. Syracuse, NY

Moderator

Joined: 08/26/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 11:34am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If any one wonders if this works just read all the posts. Even though it was reported as an actual scam that's been repeated we still have people posting it might be true....Barum was right.


blog.rv.net Your daily guide to the Open Road

Subscribe to the daily digest

They say you learn by your mistakes, in that case I must be a genius.

Daveinet

il

Senior Member

Joined: 10/29/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 11:35am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The military excuse is a very common one. You are already being setup for an excuse to send money ahead of time - that the previous buyer had backed out. Those two excuses together are well known to be common with a scammer.


Dave

FMCA F298817
'83 Revcon Prince 31' FWD
502 w/Howell/Edelbrock MPFI, Thorley's & Magnaflows,
Koni FSD, Class A built for gear heads
??????
Revconeers Forum

There is nothing compassionate about taking someone elses money and giving to the poor.


1492

Virginia, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/08 12:01pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

fourfurz wrote:

This is a well known scam. You'll be asked to send a money order to WU in your name to some place, meet him at the airport, etc. Bottom line: you'll lose your money and not get the coach.

"If a deal seems too good to be true, it probably is." - USPS Postmaster

I reported it to the security department at RVTrader. Hopefully they will remove this before anyone is hurt.

Also appears on rvsearch.com and oodle.com.

This ad is similar to others with the same angle. Claims to be in the military, or otherwise traveling on business. Provides a phone number, but likely just a number picked at random. Needless to say, you will never be able to contact the seller by phone. Will only communicate directly through email, usually from a Gmail account?

There was another ad on oodle.com not too long ago for a 2006 Itasca Navion Diesel for $15,000. Contacting the seller returned these emails. I especially enjoyed the line where the '06 Navion was "packed, insured, and ready for shipping."

Countryhill Traveler

Ontario, Canada

New Member

Joined: 06/22/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 01:20pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Fortunately we just read your posting. We were presently looking at a 2004 Monaco Windsor that was selling at $58,000 which is an unbelieveable price. We contacted the seller for more information on this unit and were told the same army story as you were. It sounded quite believeable until we read your posting.

Thank you for sharing this information with the rest of us. No doubt you have saved many people.

Countryhill Traveler

bill h

coastal reconquista

Senior Member

Joined: 08/02/2001

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/08 01:31pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would treat it as an honest ad but send no money.

A. Once he sees you will pay no front money, he will break it off if he is a fake.

B. If he is a real seller, things will still move forward.

I'd bet on A.


84 Barth 30 tag powered by ht502/Thorley, Gear Vendors OD
Siamese Calvin and Airedale Hobbes
4WD Toyota toad

1492

Virginia, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/08 01:48pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Countryhill Traveler wrote:

Fortunately we just read your posting. We were presently looking at a 2004 Monaco Windsor that was selling at $58,000 which is an unbelieveable price. We contacted the seller for more information on this unit and were told the same army story as you were. It sounded quite believeable until we read your posting.

Thank you for sharing this information with the rest of us. No doubt you have saved many people.

Countryhill Traveler

I take it that you were referring to this ad also in rvtraderonline?

tropical36

Southwest Florida_USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/11/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 02:33pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Also, there's a lot of good email tracers out there. I use ipnetinfo....a free program where you just plug in the full headers of the message and it traces it all the way back to it's source. I did a lot of this when my old pace was for sale...with most interested buyers being scam artists from nigeria and other parts of africa. I even managed to get one degenerate to send a bogus check to the US secret service and a couple of others to the bank of america....lol
Still haven't figured out what your potential seller is up to, unless he expects you to send him a down payment....yeah right!!!!

* This post was edited 07/29/08 02:40pm by tropical36 *


"We are often so caught up in our destination that we forget to appreciate the journey."

1998 36ft. National Tropi-Cal Model 6350, with a tag axle and one slide, on a 1997 P32 Chevy chassis....7.4 Vortec Engine


chastho

arkansas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/27/2005

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/08 03:35pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can't believe people actually fall for this. Some of the post read as if they really believe there is a mh. I guess there are enough gullible people to keep these scammers in business.

othertonka

Stockton, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 11/15/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club


Posted: 07/29/08 04:22pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well the pictures look good and he is not asking you to pay for his flight to show the MH, but how far do you have to travel to see it? If no money is changing hands until you see the MH and search the title, it might be legit, but only you can determine that. If he is telling the truth, it seams he has already been taken once by the person who did not show up after he traveled to show it. Who knows?
By the way here is a clickable link to the pictures.
Photos
Personnaly I would never do a deal like this because there are too many units available within my local area.
On edit this is the same Mh as listed on this web site!!
Photos on RV search
Is it the same seller? Who knows.


Othertonka
2004 Southwind 32VS 8.1 Workhorse chassis
2002 CRV Toad
U. S. Gear Unified brake system
Retired Fire Captain, SFD


This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Smells like a scam--what do you think?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2009 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS