RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Motorhomes "For Sale" Scams?

RV Community

  |  

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

RV Dealers

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

RV.net
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Motorhomes "For Sale" Scams?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
1492

Virginia, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile


Posted: 08/09/08 09:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Since a few unsuspecting people still fall for this type of scam, I thought I'd post a warning! As an example, here is a 2005 Gulf Stream Crescendo DP for $38,000. This bogus ad appeared recently in both RVTraderOnline.com and RVSearch.com, and claims that the coach is located in Berwyn, IL. The person who placed this ad appears to have copied photos and descriptions from a legitimate dealer. The actual price of this coach is $78,900., and appears to belong to RLB Auto Group in Fort Worth, TX who is the legitimate dealer. Here is the actual dealer's EBAY listing, and also the their website listing for this coach. The dealer was notified of this bogus ad.

Other current examples of bogus ad listings include:

2003 Allegro Bus DP - $42,000...(actual EBAY listing $82,500.)
RVSearch.com(fake?).....RVTraderOnline.com(fake?)

2005 Itasca Meridian DP - $39,000...(actual EBAY listing $115,000.)
RVSearch.com(fake?)

2005 Fleetwood DISCOVERY DP - $38,500...(actual EBAY listing $92,500.)
RVSearch.com(fake?)

These apparent bogus ads fit similar patterns of other scams reported in the past year. The seller typically communicates only through email, despite giving a phone no. which is most likely just a random or a false no. at that. They will attempt to obtain a deposit from the unsuspecting buyer, commonly through Western Union or MoneyGram, or otherwise claim to use a known trusted service such escrow.com or buysafe.com. However, the web links the buyer receives from the very official looking emails, do not direct the buyer to the legitimate website, but likely to the scammers website instead. These type of scams appear to be quite successful as we continue to see them year after year!

* This post was last edited 08/11/08 11:02am by 1492 *   View edit history

Burro

U.S.A.

Senior Member

Joined: 12/14/2004

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/09/08 10:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the heads-up!

Golden_HVAC

Fulltime, CA, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/10/08 01:25am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I guess the scammer could also set up a company called "Joe's escrow service" and you make out the check to what you think is a real escrow service, send it to the scammer, and then have no company that is real to sue when the deal finally falls apart.

I know someone who was selling a truck and was told they would get a cashier's check, and then would send it overseas once the check cleared. It takes a bank about a week to figure out that the cashier's check was a fraud, and to remove the money from your account again.

Fred.


Money can't buy happiness but somehow it's more comfortable to cry in a Porsche or Country Coach!

If there's a WILL, I want to be in it!

Improve a life KangenPowerTeam.com Akaline Water.

I havn't been everywhere, but it's on my list.

Escapees.com

CurtisG

Vinton, Louisiana

Full Member

Joined: 07/23/2007

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/10/08 07:23am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I recently posted a scam about a 2004 38' Alfa diesel for $34500.00 that I played along with to see what he wanted. The scammer wanted a $3000.00 moneygram sent by my wife to me at the supposed location of the coach. Also he wanted the moneygram "reference" number, name & address of both me and my wife so he could verify that I had sent the money. Of course with that info he would collect the money and I would be out $3000.00. I blew him off by telling him I purchased a coach locally. With these type of post I hope no one here on the forum gets hooked.

Curt


CurtisG
2003 34' Allegro Bay
WH(W22)/GM8.1/Allison

stevelv

FullTimers at Last!

Senior Member

Joined: 05/24/2006

View Profile


Posted: 08/10/08 08:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Unfortunately, during an economic recession, these bottom dwelling persons pray upon the weak of mind. They have always been there but you will see crime and scamming increase as times get hard.

I'm also wondering whether we will see an increase in the number of motorhome fires as well - easier to burn it and claim the insurance rather than sell it.

Just be careful and remember the old addage of 'if it sounds too good to be true, it is'


RV Park Finder
Fulltimers
2002 Beaver Santiam 38DST + Banks + 99 Jeep GC
DH,DW,Jake and Indie

naysmitj

Canada

Full Member

Joined: 02/25/2007

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/10/08 09:23am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the heads up on an other version of internet scam, "caveat emptor" is the internet chant when dealing with any of these purported sellers.

dawgs3

n.c

Full Member

Joined: 07/27/2007

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/10/08 11:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

as usual,if it sounds to good to be true,it is.

fourfurz

Memphis

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2008

View Profile


Posted: 08/10/08 12:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I reported this scam (probably others did as well) to the security page on rvtraderonline. It seems they've added quite a bit more information on scams there, so at least they're aware of the situation and are trying to do something about it. The problem is that they've hidden that page in an obscure place. There should be a "Report this ad" link on every one so it will be easy and obvious. That might at least drive these idiots away from RV's.


2007 Mountain Aire 4528
2006 CRV SE
Based in Memphis area


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Motorhomes "For Sale" Scams?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2009 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS