Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: gooseneck + adapter + Bighorn 3670RL (12K dry)

Posted By: rickb on 11/30/08 05:31am

Hi, all -

So, I've got a truck with a killer gooseneck setup installed in it, already. Looking to get the Bighorn 3670RL (which is a moderately heavy trailer - 12K dry).

I can get that all cut out and replaced with a plate, but I'm wondering if a gooseneck adapater would work?

Gooseneck ratings are pretty high - towing horses, vehicle carriers, etc. I'm thinking a concern would be the shock transmitted to the trailer? The truck's got a pretty stiff suspension (air-bags added). Is there an adapter with a suspension mechanism in it?

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I'm a real newbie in the fiver world, so any help appreciated. I'd like to really understand the issues before spending a couple of grand to get it cut out and replaced with a plate.

thanx,
rickb

Current stable:
  • '97 F350 CC 4x4 SWD/'97 Coachmen Ranger cabover camper, 11.5'
  • DataStorm Satellite Internet w/ 'a/b' Internal WiFi (I'm here!)
  • '92 Coachmen class 'B', Chevy van chassis.

In Tow:
  • Folbot Yukon folding kayak.
  • Bike Friday Gnu/Sat-R-Day folding bikes.

• Posted By: shadoow on 11/30/08 05:59am

mornin rick,

I'll tell you what i've read on here & you can probably get more info thru a search. One of the big considerations to using a goose neck adapter seems to be the stress it puts on the 5er pin box. Some say that using could/would void any frame warranty you have. It's suggested to contact the manufacturer to get their thoughts on using a goose neck setup.
    As far as a hitch goes, there are air-ride type hitches out there. Mor-Ryde (sp?) is one of them & I would think something like this would cushion the trailer ride considerably but, I have no personal experience with this type of setup.
    I'm sure others will chime in that can help you better (once the coffee gets done....)

Posted By: curt12914 on 11/30/08 06:04am