I have a '06 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner.
Per owner's manual:
4.0 liter
V6
236 hp
266 lb-ft torque
6,500 lb. max. gross trailer weight
11,100 lb. max. gross trailer weight + vehicle + occupants + cargo

I'm planning a road trip from Orlando, FL to Dallas, TX so I anticipate fairly flat roads and no steep hills. My family of 5 weigh approx. 450 lb. total.

I would like to rent this trailer ( http://www.cruiseamerica.com/rent/our_vehicles/travel_trailers.aspx ). It has Reese stabilizer bars rated at 10,000 lb. Per the rental agent, it is 6,000 lb fully loaded with gas, propane, etc. The rental company technician saw the Tacoma and said it can tow the trailer with no problem.

I would like some other opinions as well. Can some experts tell me if the Tacoma will be struggling to tow the trailer or if it will be able to do it fairly comfortably? I would just like to get a feel for whether it is too much trailer (or too little truck) since I have no experience with this.

Please advise and many thanks!

Posted By: svlehman on 12/10/08 10:56am

I'm not sure about towing with no problem. I towed almost the same trailer with my Tundra and I definately knew it was back there.

Here is an earlier post.

Calculating the ACTUAL weight of your trailer

Ok, first thing first. Do not rely on the brochure you got from the trailer dealer or what the dealer told you it weighed. In any Toy Hauler, Hybrid Trailer, Travel Trailer or Pop-up Camper there will be a weight and capacity sticker inside one of the cabinet doors. This sticker will tell you the actual dry weight of the exact unit that you are standing in. It will also tell you the GVWR (what the max the trailer is safely capable of weighing), the consumable capacities and their weights, and finally what the CCC (cargo carrying capacity) is.