|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

> Unfinished TTs from Factory

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
JenInCO

Colorado Springs

View Profile

Posted: 06/02/09 10:06am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi all, I'm a newbie on this forum but not a complete newbie to camping or RVing, and a real "oldie" when it comes to building and construction. My husband and I are looking for a new unfinished travel trailer, preferably telescoping (HiLo, Trailmanor, etc), that we can finish out ourselves. I've googled everything I can think of to find this factory- or dealer-direct, but can't find anything. We want to do our own floorplan but want to start with the shell. Can anyone point me to web or other resources for buying and finishing out TTs?

Thanks!

Sinecure

South of New Orleans

View Profile

Posted: 06/02/09 10:31am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

From what I have read, and have seen on Discovery Channel's "How It's Made", TT's are built from the inside out. Basically, your floor plan is already in place before the walls ever go on. You may be better off buying an enclosed trailer to suit your needs, and building upon it. Wells Cargo is one manufacturer that sells enclosed trailers, even with doors and windows like a TT would have, but I'm sure you have some local dealers as well.

2013 Voltage 3600 EPIC
B&W Companion hitch / TrailAir Tri-Glide pin box

Josie97

Indianapolis, IN

View Profile

Posted: 06/02/09 10:38am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Why not buy an old Airstream or other aluminum sided trailer. Gut it and redo it.

04 F-150 Super Crew FX4, 5.4L, 3.73