Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: belgian rv beginners in america

Posted By: ericvh on 08/18/09 05:20am

We spend regularly our holidays in U.S.A. Essentialy in KOA campgrounds in camping cabins all over your wonderfull country. In a few years, I'll be retired ( i'm a federal police officer in Belgium)and we plan to buy a ROCKWOOD 2604SS ULTRA LITE and continue to cruise the US about 2 or 3 months every year. We never owned any rv and for that purpose , I need to ask a few questions:
1- knowing that the ROCKWOOD 2604SS has a UVW of 5228lb and aGVWR of 6629lb, what kind of car do I need to tow this rig. Can somebody give me and example of cars ( make and type) and motor power.
2- Between two stays in the US, we'll need storage for the car and the rv. Can somebody give me informations about storages, web sites, etc...
3- We always been delighted while we stayed at KOA campgrounds. Is there other campgrounds ( chains or private) as good as them.
Thank you for any of you answer.
(PS: sorry for my "bad" english, but I normaly speek french).

Posted By: RRUGG on 08/18/09 05:58am

You'll need either a pickup truck, large suv, or full size van to tow that trailer. No cars built anymore with that type of towing capability. I'd suggest visiting the websites for Ford, Chevrolet, and Dodge plus Edmunds to research various vehicles capabilities. Edmunds has vehicle reviews by their own people and also owner reviews. My own opinion is that, while KOAs are generally pretty nice, I believe that they are overpriced. There are MANY public and private campgrounds/rv parks that are just as nice and often at a lower cost. Each state has a tourism bureau where you can request camping info. Trailer Life and Woodall's both have very large campground books with prices, details, and ratings. I think your English is just fine. In fact, it's a lot better than many who have been born and raised here. No opinion on how you speak it but you write it very well.

RRUGG