Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: How long is too long?

Posted By: NogginBoink on 09/18/09 09:55pm

My wife and I both camped with our families as kids, and now that we have kids of our own we've decided that it's time to start our own family traditions.

We went to an RV show here in Dallas yesterday, and the only trailer that really called out to us was a 32' Zinger model. While discussing this later, we've started to wonder if that might be too long to fit into camping spaces.

Since we have no experience in this area, we're looking to the community for input. Is a 32 foot trailer too long? (Yes, I know that's subjective.) I have no experience towing a trailer, and while I'm not intimidated at the thought, I know enough to know that there's a lot I don't know.

I drive a 2003 Ram 1500 with the HEMI engine. The mfr rates it with a 7750 lb. towing capacity. The Zinger ZT32QB that caught our eye has a 6,000lb empty weight. Does the 7,750lb towing capacity of my pickup provide enough safety margin to haul this behemoth?

I'd appreciate the thoughts of the community as this newbie starts his RV-ing hobby.

Posted By: Rvndave on 09/18/09 10:25pm

If the truck will be overloaded or not you need to do some math. Information needed is the GVWR of your truck, the actual weight of your truck with all fuel passengers and cargo, the GVWR of the trailer, and the combined weight rating. This information will be in the owners manual, and on the drivers door or door post. The actual weight can be determined at the scales. Most truck stops have scales for about $10.