RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: BEWARE - Scams abound!

RV Community

  |  

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

RV Dealers

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > BEWARE - Scams abound!

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Class A Motorhomes Related Tips
Gunship Guy

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 08/09/2003

View Profile



Posted: 11/10/09 04:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Stim wrote:

Not so fast! That is obviously a scammer but I have gotten some smokin' deals on craigslist.org . There are some clone sites out there (cl .com) which is why I posted the real address.
I just bought a 1989 27' Class A off of CL for $1500. I drove it home! The owners wife told him to get it out of the yard, she was tired of looking at it and not using it. I have it ready to use and only spent another $600. on it including two front tires which were still OK but I wanted them new on the steering axle. I called 10 minutes after it was listed and went straight up to look at it 10 miles away. Their phone was ringing off of the hook!
I also bought a $2500. metal working machine for $600. and a 19' $7500. boat for $5500. You have to be quick to get the good deals and know what you are looking at.


Agree. We've sold several vehicles through Craigslist very quickly. One within 3 hours of posting. It's a valuable tool that we'll continue to use.



PICS OF STUFF



I like chicks with nice tents.

restorodder

Pinckney Michigan

Full Member

Joined: 01/07/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club

Offline
Posted: 11/10/09 04:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have had very good luck selling on Craigs list. I just sold my 2001 Dodge Dakota for a fair price,last month. I had three buyers fighting over it. Two of them were racing to my house with cash. I also sold my old car hauler trailer that needed a lot of work. I listed it at midnight,and someone woke me up at 6AM,He came right over and paid cash. Also sold lots of other stuff that was too big to ship on a EBAY sale.


2008 Newmar Canyon Star - 2007 Dodge Dakota - Toad - Three cats - Halston 13 - Sassy 12 - Preston 2


BillArf

.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Posted: 11/10/09 05:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Snipe:
turninghawk wrote:

IMO, Craigslist is not the place serious buyers shop, nor serious sellers advertise. I know there are isolated cases of people buying & selling on CL that were satisfactory experiences, but from my personal experience (and as you know, I'm an automobile dealer), CL is garbage. Stick to the better sites & the results will be better.


Phooey!

BillArf

.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Posted: 11/10/09 05:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gunship Guy wrote:



Agree. We've sold several vehicles through Craigslist very quickly. One within 3 hours of posting. It's a valuable tool that we'll continue to use.


Same here! Quickly sold a Class A, Motorcycle parts, Satellite dishes,
Motorcycle platform jack, Various RV related items, electronic equipment and more. Sure you have you have to be a wise buyer, seller but that's a given. I sell/buy local..

Dynasty40

Northern California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/07/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/10/09 09:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It would cost more than $4,200 to ship it...TIC..I love that it's in "excelent" (sp) condition and it's an add not an ad....Dennis


Dennis and Debi
Monaco Dynasty Baron 40PFD
Towing a Chevy HHR W/
ReadyBrute


turninghawk

Gatlinburg, TN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/11/2003

View Profile



Posted: 11/11/09 05:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BillArf wrote:

Snipe:
turninghawk wrote:

IMO, Craigslist is not the place serious buyers shop, nor serious sellers advertise. I know there are isolated cases of people buying & selling on CL that were satisfactory experiences, but from my personal experience (and as you know, I'm an automobile dealer), CL is garbage. Stick to the better sites & the results will be better.


Phooey!


Phooey me if you like, but I buy and sell in excess of 1,000 vehicles per year.....and you? Based on my experience, and not just a piecemeal single purchase here or there, I do know what I'm talking about. This is my living, and 27 years of successful experience qualify me to make the statements I did. You want the 'real' sites to go to? PM me.

btilfan

springfield NE

Senior Member

Joined: 05/25/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/11/09 05:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bought my class A on craigs list. no problem.
the scams are pretty easy to spot.


1990 Cobra Malibu
My new hobby.


mchero

Concord, NH

Senior Member

Joined: 11/09/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/11/09 05:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My Pace was purchased thru Ebay. Smokin deal!

Thanks for all the replys folks. Good info.


Robert McHenry
Concord, NH.
1993 Fleetwood 36' Pace Arrow
Cummins 8.3l Turbo 300hp (uprated)
Allison 3060 Trans
http://dieselrvowners.com


Lariat trucker

Sticksville, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 11/18/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club

Offline
Posted: 11/11/09 05:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I saw a report on one of the TV stations about one of these ads. It turned out that the picture was legitimate but the ad wasn't. They posted the ad in a city where a relative of the coach owner lived and they recognized the photo as one that was taken in their driveway! Again the EBay storage lot and EBay payment etc, etc. I though it was comical that a car dealer actual took a shot at Craigs List when most of their ads are just as misleading. Like "your out of pocket is only 1/2 of MSRP".....It's a lease and you aren't buying the car! DUH!

melvonnar

clearwater florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/26/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/11/09 08:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I sent the below message to this scammer; it will be interesting to see if I get a reply.

I have a brother that lives in Seattle; who is interested; send the address so he can come look at the motorhome.
If this is a scam, he will hunt you down, he's a detective

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > BEWARE - Scams abound!
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2009 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS