Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Replacemenrt of water line to ice maker in Dometic

Posted By: Texas Two Steppers on 05/10/10 06:24am

Is there an easy way to replace the water line to the ice maker in a Dometic or does the refer have to come out? I've never done this before, how difficult is it?

2013 Duramax 3500 dually 4x4
2013 Excel Winslow 31RSE
TST tire monitor
Magnum MS 2012 inverter/charger
3-135w solar panels
Tristar controller
Trimetric monitor
4-6v Trojan t105 batteries
B & W companion 3000 hitch

Posted By: jetcare on 05/10/10 06:32am

About half the time the ice maker line is damaged at the bottom 12 inches, right before the water valve. You can just add a splice connnector and some new line and you are good to go. But, about half the time the line in just deterioriated and needs to be replaced. You need to slide the refrigerator out to get to the top unless you are lucky enough to work through the upper door if you have a slide. Sliding a single-wide refrigerator out is not a big job, it just looks like it.

Matt the Mobile RV Tech

2007 Coachman 32 foot Travel Trailer
2010 Ford F350 Super Duty 4X2, SRW, 6.4L

Posted By: aslakson on 05/10/10 06:35am

Pretty much have to pull the fridge, unless you have access to the rear of the entire unit or really really long arms - the water line usually runs from the bottom all the way to the top of the fridge.

Worse than that is changing it when the fridge is too big to remove without dismantling it. Replacing ours a couple years ago required a slim repairman to climb up into the vent space behind the refer, after we slid it forward as far as we could (it hit the wall on the other side of the hall). $17 in parts, $600 in labor.

Turn the water off to the ice maker and buy a little standalone unit - much less hassle.

al

Fulltiming since Apr 2007 in 2000 Rexhall Aerbus, towing 2012 Honda CRV. 44 of the lower 48 so far.

Posted By: Bigdog on 05/10/10 09:35am