Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: 1985 Rockwood - Ford E350 - No fuel!

Posted By: James85C on 07/16/10 09:57am

Greetings, this is my first time posting anything on GoodSam. Sadly, I'm writing due to a problem with my beloved "new" RV, not just for fun!

So I picked up an 86 Rockwood class-C a couple months ago, with the main intention being a trip with my friends down to Missouri. Got her tuned up, and she ran flawlessly for 1000 miles on our trip last weekend. I really felt good that I had a solid rig for future use. Sure, she needed a few things here and there, but overall felt good.

Well, 2 days after my trip, I finished cleaning it out in my driveway, and went to take it back to the storage lot in town where I keep it. Well, she wouldn't start. Absolutely no fuel at the carb (Ford 460, Holley 4 bbl). Spray a bit of starting fluid, she fires immediately.

I guess the main purpose of my message is to see if anyone has some suggestions on where to start. I have confirmed that it has electric pumps. I have never been able to use the rear tank, only the front. The switchover unit on the frame rail does physically make a switching action when the dash switch is moved, so I don't think it's that. All wiring looks solid, and the main supply line from the switch box to the engine is not blocked (pulled hose off the filter, flows free by gravity). I did locate the "reset" button on the passenger kick panel, that did nothing for me. Could that unit itself be bad? Is there a way to bypass it to determine if that's the issue?

Did I likely have one dead fuel pump to start with (rear tank) and now my front tank pump is dead? Up next is checking wires for power, making sure it's not a bad relay or fuse, not that I know where relays or fuses for fuel pumps are anyways.

Does anyone know of a way to get a free wiring diagram for an old E350? That would be good to have. And a repair manual, as I'm not very familiar with Fords or anything RWD and carb'd for that matter.