Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Diesel Pusher Roof Types

Posted By: melton74959 on 09/04/10 08:37pm

I am new to the diesel pusher world and I looked at Fleetwood, Monoco, Winnebago, etc, and the climbed up the rear ladder and inspected the roof. On some I saw just a one piece roof, and on others I saw what looked like a two piece roof in that it had a tape running from front to rear down the middle.
In all cases the salesman told me they all had one piece roofs, the ones that I looked at. One even told me it had an aluminum roof covered by fiberglass.
Does anyone have a link to some site that shows which RV maker has what type of roof?

Posted By: B Bob on 09/04/10 08:44pm

Generally speaking DP roofs are EPDM (rubber resistant to UV light) or fiberglass. A few have aluminum. Fiberglass IMHO is the one you want.

Take all things said by motor home sellers with a Missouri attitude. Show me. My guess would be a roof that had an obvious seam down the middle is not one piece.

Posted By: Bill S. on 09/04/10 09:32pm

All Winnebago class 'A' have a one piece fiberglass roof.

Bill, (aka Capt.Bill)
Indian River, De
2002 Horizon 36LD, Cat 330
Practicing retirement!

Posted By: Bruce Brown on 09/04/10 09:03pm

B Bob wrote:

Generally speaking DP roofs are EPDM (rubber resistant to UV light) or fiberglass. A few have aluminum. Fiberglass IMHO is the one you want.

Take all things said by motor home sellers with a Missouri attitude. Show me. My guess would be a roof that had an obvious seam down the middle is not one piece.

I'd offer very few use true EPDM these days. Most non-fiberglass are a TPO type syenthetic material, which is much better than EPDM.

There are 24 hours in every day - it all depends on how you choose to use them.
Bruce & Jill Brown
2008 Kountry Star Pusher 3910

Posted By: DSDP Don on 09/04/10 09:59pm