Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Dodge 6 speed standard

Posted By: SWMO on 09/13/10 09:17am

I've turned my search for a truck toward Dodge. I'm not only not finding any Fords, there seems to be none in the good years.
I can find some nice DRW 3500 Dodge's, but they all have standards, farm country normal.
My question is does anyone have experience pulling a heavy fiver with a standard. I have a lot of experience with a standard shift and I know the clutch has to be stout. I can't imagine anything worse than a blown clutch out on the road.
Comments??

2009 Dodge 3500 Laramie, DRW, 4X4, auto, 6.7L, B & W Companion.
Jayco Designer 34RLQS, Mor/Ryde

Posted By: mowermech on 09/13/10 09:28am

I towed the fiver in my sig with the truck in my sig around the West for three years, full timing.
If I were to upgrade my truck, I would find a Dodge CTD HO 6 speed manual. My son had one, and we could back the trailer into a site without ever touching the throttle! When they say "Zero throttle launch", they mean just exactly that!
In fact, my old '94 was just as good.
With a little practice you should have no clutch problems at all!
IMO, anybody who blows the clutch out of a Dodge CTD needs to learn how to drive their truck! (EDIT: Well, I did it again, forgot to say that there are ALWAYS exceptions! Which, of course, there ARE! Sometimes things just break, for no apparent reason. Such is life!)
But then, I learned to drive in a 1939 Ford, and a 1946 Ford pickup with a four speed, so I grew up knowing how to use a clutch. Many people these days don't have that advantage.
I would not have anything but a manual transmission for heavy duty use.
You can do it if you want to. The clutch should hold up just fine.

* This post was edited 09/14/10 04:49pm by mowermech *

CM1, USN (RET)
2002 Fleetwood Southwind 32V, Ford V10
Toad 1: '06 PT Cruiser, Kar Kaddy dolly
Toy (and Toad 2): 2001 Dodge QC SWB, 360 Magnum, Auto, 4X4
"When seconds count, help is only minutes away!"