Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Best places to find listings of small, used TTs?

Posted By: rajdude on 06/17/11 01:04pm

Hello everyone,
Here is a big HELLO from a total newbie to RVs!

The RV bug recently bit me and now I am looking for a small lightweight travel trailer. I am limited by the tow capacity of my Tow Vehicle – a ‘07 Mercedes R320 CDI. It is rated for 3500 lbs tow / 350 lbs tongue. No weight distribution allowed. It has a diesel engine with makes as much torque as a gas V8. I know people successfully tow travel trailers in Europe with this vehicle.
However, I am limited to only small travel trailers, less than 20’ long. I can see there are quite a few models we like.

The problem is: where do I find listings of small used TTs?

Every used RV website has only large TTs listed. Most of the small ones on those sites are brand new ones.

-Raj
rajdude.com
'02 Fleetwood Terra 26Y MH

Posted By: rajdude on 06/17/11 01:05pm

While we are at it.... which small travel trailer would fit our needs...

We need to fit 2 adults and 2 small children and a big dog in the TT. I prefer not to convert the dinette to a bed every night.
After searching [mostly] online here are the TTs we like:

Forestriver's R-pod
These models seem ideal, aerodynamic, look good and lightweight. Bathroom may be too small.
http://www.forestriverinc.com/nd/default22.asp?nav=rec&page=rpod&choice=brochure

Heartland's MPG
Their models are similar to r-pods but tongue weight is higher
http://www.heartlandrvs.com/index.php?p=35&c=ultralight&sc=MP&view=floorplans

Skyline Nomad Retro 186
http://www.skylinerv.com/floorplans/186.gif
This is the perfect floor plan but it not good looking from the outside. Not aerodynamic.

KZ Sportsmen Classic 19BH
Looks identical to Skyline Nomad Retro 186. Not aerodynamic
http://www.sonnysrvs.com/rv/kz/traveltrailer/497/KZ_SPORTSMEN_CLASSIC_19BH
http://www.mm-rvcenter.com/pre_owned_detail.asp?veh=1668036&nv=y

Amerilite 15BH