Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: What's that (outside) smell?

Posted By: reinita on 07/11/11 04:58pm

We've already used our TT about five times this season since we got it. It's our second, so we are relatively new to RV'ing, but not complete newbies. Whenever I walk by the TT when we're parked at home, I've noticed that there's a urine smell outside our trailer. Our previous trailer did not smell like that at all.
I've checked to make sure I properly closed the cap after draining the black and grey tanks. I've also made sure to really flush out the hose before storing it in the bumper.
Our TT has a covering over the whole bottom, so it's a little bit hard to see what's going on under the "hood," if you would.
Any suggestions? I will take it in to Camping World in the coming weeks, but I want to figure out if there's anything I can try in the meantime. We do put in a few gallons of water after each dump and throw in some of the green stuff in the tank.
Thanks for your suggestions!

Forest River Sunseeker 3170 bunkhouse. We travel with a shih tzu, a leonberger and, oh, yeah, two teens and a 7-year-old.

Posted By: coolbreeze01 on 07/11/11 05:15pm

Maybe a neighborhood cat? Good luck.

2008 Dodge 3500 With a Really Strong Tractor Motor...........
LB, SRW, 4X4, 6-Speed Auto, 3.73, Prodigy P3, Blue Ox Sway Pro........
2014 Sandsport 26FBSL

Posted By: rv2go on 07/11/11 05:17pm

You may have rodents living somewhere underneath.

Winnebago Journey
TN Lic. RV 2 GO
Jeep Cherokee 4x4
www.rv2go.us
I'm here #4335
Travel Photos

Posted By: davidm99 on 07/11/11 05:23pm

You might check your refrigerator. Dometic and Norcold both have recalls out. The ammonia in the back of the refrigerator leaks out which may be the source of the smell and then they catch fire. Major safety issue. Good luck and I hope you do not have a fire.

Posted By: javaseuf on 07/11/11 05:31pm

davidm99 wrote: