RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Thermostat Conversion - Analog to Digital - Resolved

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Thermostat Conversion - Analog to Digital - Resolved

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
Bill/Diana

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 04/25/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/05/11 09:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For some time now I have read about many of you that made the AC and furnace thermostat coversion using the Hunter 42995 thermostat. Last week while in Walmart I purchased the Hunter and now in the process of the conversion using these directions. Click here for directions.

All is going well except my old thermostat also has an RH wire that is not shown in the conversion directions. Should I connect the RH wire and if so do I still leave the jumper in place between RC and RH? Also, do I need to change the switch setting on the back of the thermostat?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Bill

* This post was edited 09/06/11 09:11am by Bill/Diana *


Bill & Diana

Please click here to visit our Website


Chris Bryant

DeLand, Florida, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 09/05/11 09:58am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It depends on which Air Conditioner you are working with.


-- Chris Bryant
My RV Service Blog
The RV.net Blog

Bill/Diana

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 04/25/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/05/11 12:31pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the replies folks.

The air conditioner is a duo therm. Will that determine how the RC & RH wires are connected?

downtheroad

Pacific Northwest

Senior Member

Joined: 02/18/2003

View Profile



Posted: 09/05/11 10:01am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Can't remember how exactly I did mine ( Heck, I can't even remember what I had for breakfast).

I know I did leave the RH jumped on the digital stat and I think I just tested it by both ways with the existing RH until it worked correctly. You can't hurt anything by testing it both ways.

I do remember that I didn't use the existing Red; I just caped it.


"If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane."
GMC Duramax LBZ
Komfort
Reese Dual Cam HP
Our Rig Picture...CLICK HERE



Chris Bryant

DeLand, Florida, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 09/05/11 10:32am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thinking about it- I think both DuoTherm and Colman would have RH and RC jumpered, but on DuoTherms they are hooked to ground, on Coleman, they are hooked to +12.

Chris Bryant

DeLand, Florida, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 09/05/11 02:53pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

They should be jumpered, hooked to ground.

Bill/Diana

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 04/25/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/06/11 09:15am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This morning connected all the wires including both the RC & RH. Left the jumper in place on the thermostat terminal strip between the RC & RH posts. Also, left the selector switch on the back of the thermostat in the HG position.

Both the AC and the Furnace seem to be working just fine with the new Hunter 42995 Thermostat. Thanks for the help and a special thanks to the fella who so thoroughly documented the procedure fo making the conversion. Now I'm anxious to take our next trip and see how well it really works.

Thanks again.

Bill

Bill/Diana

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 04/25/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/05/11 03:00pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Chris....

Thanks for the reply. Tomorrow I will finish the wiring and connect the RH and RC wires to their respective location on the Hunter terminal strip. I'll leave the jumper in place. Then I'll try running the AC and then try running the furnace to verify all is working properly. The Hunter factory directions explain the selector switch on the back is for the heat funtion. HG for gas and HE for electric. So I'll leave the switch in the HG position.

I'll report back on this thread after running the test tomorrow.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Thermostat Conversion - Analog to Digital - Resolved
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS