|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers

> 1970(?) HR Vacationer Project

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 7  
Next
Sponsored By:
MrSurly

East Tx

View Profile

Posted: 10/31/11 01:07pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello, thanks for the opportunity to share some info here!
I'm a newbie to this but determined to make a go of it.
I recently set about the search for a camper to put on a deer lease; it didn't need amenities, just a place to sleep. There would be 120AC available so an AC space heater is all I needed for the overnights at the deer camp. I expected to find a very small "canned ham" camper; but what I ended up with is an old Holiday Rambler Vacationer!
It would do the job...and all those amenities (that probably don't work anyway) would be ignored.
And then, my daughter set me straight on HER plan.

'This is a really cool trailer, Dad'(!) And it's gonna be SOO000 cool when we're finished, an' we'll be able to take the boys to the lake, and,and...
So, now I'm embarking on a project; I'm going to get the old girl going again and do some minor* updating as well, as the budget allows. I MIGHT get to go hunting, but I may still need to get a camper for that!
I've read some threads here from others who have similar HRs and similar projects. Hopefully I can add some info myself, but mostly I'll be learning from all of you.
I have a great pile of questions, of course.
  1. I have located date codes on the hitch and various appliances that indicate that it was built about Oct 1970 and I'll assume that it is a 1971 model
  2. Where can I find a VIN on the unit?