RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Running Aquahot with water drained

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Running Aquahot with water drained

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/06/11 09:31am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bluwtr49 wrote:

Seeings as how the temps are getting low occasionlly and that you're going to be moving shortly, I'd just set the thermostates to 50 and not worry about it...assuming of course you have shore power

We're getting into the 20's tonight and tomorrow and that's what I am going to do with my Hurricane.

Before the MH, I did pretty much the same thing with my TT and the propane furnace for 6 years and never had a problem.


What happens if you have a bad storm and the power goes out for days?????? Read about our "little" storm from last 02/1/11/to 02/10/11 in OK and North Texas. A LOT of homes and RV's sustained freeze damage due to power outages that lasted from a few hours to days/weeks. NO POWER! How do you run furnaces and heating systems??? Doug

aksnowman

Eagle River Alaska

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/06/11 05:11pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Generator...


AK Snowman
Eagle River AK

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/06/11 06:22pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

aksnowman wrote:

Generator...


But what if you cannot start the APU or it does not start and what if the batteries are dead? What if you run out of fuel for the APU. Starting an APU when it gets that cold may be somewhat difficult depending on how cold it gets. This is ALL assuming you are AT the RV. What happens if you cannot GET to the RV because of the storm? Doug

aksnowman

Eagle River Alaska

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/07/11 07:33am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If I can't get to the RV from here, I must have run into YU 55, the Rv is normally parked just down the street, right now it is in front of the house on shore power. As for starting it, Fuel will not be an issue, I fill the tank when I get home and keep 20 Gallons spare on board so I figure unless the gen doesn't start, the rv is good for at least 10 days. And I have a genset for the house that can power the rv. I think I am set. As for pumping the pink stuff in to a system that I use every other two weeks, I would really like to avoid it if possible.

aksnowman

Eagle River Alaska

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/08/11 01:05pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yup Read it

Cat320

Somewhere in the USA

Senior Member

Joined: 11/01/2005

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/07/11 04:25pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

StevenH wrote:


YES you can run the Aqua hot with the fresh water system drained or even filled with pink stuff. It is a seperate loop from the coach heating portion.

Steve


There's your answer.

aksnowman

Eagle River Alaska

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/07/11 03:17pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Great tip, Thanks

aksnowman

Eagle River Alaska

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/07/11 09:43am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks Paul,

Techie

Pahrump, NV, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/30/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/07/11 10:06am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Our last rig had a Hydrohot and we used to leave it set for 45-50 with the cabinet doors open and never winterized (weather would get into the low 20's). We would set it for both electric (had shore power) and diesel and had auto start on the genny. The key being to make sure that the cut-in for the genny is well above the point where it will have a hard time pre-heat/starting when it's cold. We used to set ours at 90% SOC.


2011 Airstream Classic Limited 34'
2011 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax/Allison SRW
Follow our adventures


paulcardoza

Southeastern Massachusetts

Senior Member

Joined: 01/15/2010

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/07/11 07:40am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Does your Aqua-Hot have the electric element as well? Since you are plugged in, you can just leave the electric heating on and it will prevent it from freezing. Jus also be careful about the rest of the water system if you haven't winterized. Unless you are going to keep the rig heated, including the bins and underbelly, you could end up with freeze damage.


Paul & Sandra
New Bedford, MA
2003 Monaco Executive M43 DS2

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Running Aquahot with water drained
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS