|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

> Running heater while towing

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
laknox

Arizona

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 01/05/12 12:01pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ofc950 wrote:

I am new to RVing during winter. I am not sure is I can run the heater in my 5er while towing it. I do know it would be wise to shut it down while re-fueling. Can anyone help?

I would only do it in an extreme situation, i.e. towing when it's well below freezing for a long period. You still have to keep your plumbing and tanks from freezing; not so much an issue with tanks, but the plumbing, hell, yes. You =don't= have to try and keep your FW at 68, but keeping it in the 40's to low-50's, will certainly help keep stuff from freezing. Might want to run a 12v fan, and keep your lower cabinets and drawers open, especially near the pipes.

Lyle

2002 GMC Sierra 2500 HD Duramax Crew Cab 4x4
Banks Bullet Tuner and Monster Exhaust
B&W Turnover Ball with 5th Wheel Companion
2004 Komfort 25FSG Fifth Wheel
1936 John Deere Model A
International Flying Farmers 55 Year Member

srink

Indianapolis

View Profile

Posted: 01/05/12 01:11pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I agree with a previous post.
If the temp in below 40, we'll stop about an hour out and start the furnace. Never had a problem.

Condo on Wheels

Ofc950

Northeast

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 01/05/12 03:26pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator