RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Which Satellite Dish

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Which Satellite Dish

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
mllk3rd

Pismo Beach, California

Full Member

Joined: 06/03/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/05/12 10:20pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Executive wrote:

Interesting...what campground won't let you use the simple DirecTV dish.....I've never run into one yet, but....can't see where you could use the carryout but not the simple 18" dish. We have the dome but I use the remote hookup as it's just easier. I use the IPhone4 app, HiddenSky to locate the satellite. I modified the cable hookup in the lower bay by adding another cable run in order to have both hookups necessary for the DVR. Using the multiplex, we can watch both TVs independently.....Dennis

Ok, so maybe not a campground it's an RV Resort, purchased a lot at Pacific Shores in Newport, Or. last September. I believe the CC&R don't allow them, I haven't seen one set-up. I have a dish and tripod for Direct TV, but am ready for something that's easier to set-up.

* This post was edited 01/05/12 10:37pm by mllk3rd *

mllk3rd

Pismo Beach, California

Full Member

Joined: 06/03/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/05/12 10:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

hottubkid wrote:

I have the carryout and made a ladder mount. I can take it off the mount and place it within fifty feet of the Mh by just unlocking a lock and removing the bundge's from the cord. If I am in a casino parking lot I leave it were it is. But, if I am under trees I can move it. Works for me

This is what I was thinking about doing, have you had any problems with reception in the rain?
Thanks

Ivylog

Blairsville, GA and WPB, FL.

Senior Member

Joined: 06/30/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/06/12 07:16am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP, in 1996 the FCC made the use of 1 meter or less dish possible even when there were rules against their use. Recently that blanket use has been restricted for visual reasons or " Associations may prohibit installation of individual dishes if the association installs a central dish system which provides the same service or provider as the owner would have chosen; provide signal quality at least as good as what would be received; the cost for installation, use and maintenance of the central system must not exceed the cost of an individual dish; and the system must not unreasonably delay reception."
Sounds like you may have a central system that you can hook up to but it may cost you. Like others, I carry a portable dish for those few times when my roof mounted ones will not pick up a signal. Even though I have a signal meter, I usually use the beeping tone in the receiver as it will only beep when on the correct sat. With a little practice and a good compass you should have a signal in less than five minutes.


This post is my opinion (free advice). It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.

04 Monaco Dynasty 42' quad slide
Where am I?
How I tow.

hottubkid

SCHAUMBURG,IL

Senior Member

Joined: 12/29/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/06/12 02:21am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've had two situations. First on dish get the 211k vip or the 222k vip box. All the rest will give you problems. Second, I put it on the ladder and if I turn off the box and tv set and leave the 12 volt on the unit will spin and make soft noise all night.I ran a double cable under the Mh and up to the ladder and coiled an extra fifty foot at the unit. I tapped 12 volt from the generator start cirrcuit with the use of a relay and put a switch in the coach to turn the 12 volt on and off. To start with dish got me a 322 box and I had to set up the sat almost everytime I turned it on. With the 222k vip i turn all of it on and give it a couple of minutes,say three and it finds the sat and everything works. I'm happy with it. Winedard does make a ladder mount but a friend of mune is a machinest and built mine. He says if I run it over with the mh. I'll hurt the Mh not the unit. Some special type of metal. If you have questions PM me and well talk




mllk3rd wrote:

hottubkid wrote:

I have the carryout and made a ladder mount. I can take it off the mount and place it within fifty feet of the Mh by just unlocking a lock and removing the bundge's from the cord. If I am in a casino parking lot I leave it were it is. But, if I am under trees I can move it. Works for me

This is what I was thinking about doing, have you had any problems with reception in the rain?
Thanks



hottubkid60193@yahoo.com
2004 SOUTHWIND 36E Tow 2003 CRV


ryanallie1

Magalia, Calif

Senior Member

Joined: 04/12/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/06/12 06:58am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi All.

When we switched to DirecTV, they gave us a Free Satallite Dish, and a Tri-Pod to mount it t. Now I will ask you this. Have you ever set up a Satallite Dish before on your own ? Trust mew, its not a piece of Cake t o. Now think of this issues, you have to do this every time time you moved your RV to a new location. It gets old vry quickly. Even if you have a Satallite Signal Finder and sommeone to help you. Over the years, I have set up several, from scratch Satallite Dishes for Homes and on the road RV'ing. We were not going to spend a fortune on a Stationary Automatic Satallite Dish. What we did, was to take our time, and we found a Vu-Qube Portable Satallite Dish. They usually run around $799 and you can catch them on sale for around $589 or so. We really tok our time and found a brand New One, on E-Bay, for $300 dollars. All I have yo do, is run the cable to the Portable Satallite Dish, turn it on and turn the TV on, and in about 3-5 minutes we have DirecTV. We also bring our DirecTV Box from the house wiht us, It works out great for us, as we now have DirecTV every where that we go, and with out a lot of trouble hooking it up. I mounted our Vu-Qube to a wood Platform, and I put ours up on our Motorhomes roof. I have it mounted in a way, that we could travel with it on the rear of the Motorhome roof if we wanted to. I also have a Waterproof Cover for it also. But I just haven't been willing to take that chance as yet. But sooner or later we will. Its nice to have DirecTV every where you go, and to have a great picture in a matter of minutes with out any hassels. Good Luck. Happy Travels. Dan & Jill


1998-33.5 Rexhall, Rexair SL. 460 EFI. F-53. 7.3 MPG. TST TPMS. HWH Levelers. 5.5G Gen. Convection/Microwave Water Purifier/Water Softner. 2 A/C's. Alarm Systems. Honda EU2000i's W/Kit. Steer-Safe. CR-V W/SMI System. FMCA #F414397 Nam-Vet, 66-67-68&70-71


paulcardoza

Southeastern Massachusetts

Senior Member

Joined: 01/15/2010

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 01/06/12 06:28am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We have a VuCube & ladder mount. 80% of our stops I can leave the cube where it is and use it. Otherwise, with the 50ft of cable, I can always find a line of sight to the satellites. Our Executive came with an older fixed dome and I have never even considered using it.


Paul & Sandra
New Bedford, MA
2014 Heartland Cyclone 4100 King

bluwtr49

Green Valley, AZ

Senior Member

Joined: 09/12/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/06/12 07:53am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I also have a Carryout that we purchased for our TT. Moved it to the MH and, after some rewired of the coach input it's working fine. I haven't yet had to put in on the roof, but I can see that sometimes it might be handy. I just toss it into one of the bays for traveling.

Eventually, I may get a Traveler and keep the Carryout as a back up


Dick

2000 40" DP Beaver Patriot Thunder Cat C-12 425 HP, 1550 Tq
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland ---toad

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/06/12 09:25am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My first choice would be a tripod mount however any Dual LNB antenna will work for you (Dual means two coax outputs, not two Lenses, two Lenses (Dish 500) is called a Twin) this includes the standard DirecTV dish, Dish-300 and, I believe the Winegard Carryout, about the only thing it does NOT include is the winegard table top antenna. Those (This is a small manual dish) at least the one I had, was a single (only one coax fitting)

using both a dual input DVR and a standalone receiver you may need a switch as well, your DIRECTV installer company can not only tell you if you do, but sell you the switch as well. a 2x3 or 2x3 will do it (Depending on the DVR, some DVR's ahve a 1x2 built in)


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


mllk3rd

Pismo Beach, California

Full Member

Joined: 06/03/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/06/12 04:45pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

paulcardoza wrote:

We have a VuCube & ladder mount. 80% of our stops I can leave the cube where it is and use it. Otherwise, with the 50ft of cable, I can always find a line of sight to the satellites. Our Executive came with an older fixed dome and I have never even considered using it.

So do you leave it mounted to the ladder when you travel?

mllk3rd

Pismo Beach, California

Full Member

Joined: 06/03/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/06/12 04:51pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ryanallie1 wrote:

Hi All.

When we switched to DirecTV, they gave us a Free Satallite Dish, and a Tri-Pod to mount it t. Now I will ask you this. Have you ever set up a Satallite Dish before on your own ? Trust mew, its not a piece of Cake t o. Now think of this issues, you have to do this every time time you moved your RV to a new location. It gets old vry quickly. Even if you have a Satallite Signal Finder and sommeone to help you. Over the years, I have set up several, from scratch Satallite Dishes for Homes and on the road RV'ing. We were not going to spend a fortune on a Stationary Automatic Satallite Dish. What we did, was to take our time, and we found a Vu-Qube Portable Satallite Dish. They usually run around $799 and you can catch them on sale for around $589 or so. We really tok our time and found a brand New One, on E-Bay, for $300 dollars. All I have yo do, is run the cable to the Portable Satallite Dish, turn it on and turn the TV on, and in about 3-5 minutes we have DirecTV. We also bring our DirecTV Box from the house wiht us, It works out great for us, as we now have DirecTV every where that we go, and with out a lot of trouble hooking it up. I mounted our Vu-Qube to a wood Platform, and I put ours up on our Motorhomes roof. I have it mounted in a way, that we could travel with it on the rear of the Motorhome roof if we wanted to. I also have a Waterproof Cover for it also. But I just haven't been willing to take that chance as yet. But sooner or later we will. Its nice to have DirecTV every where you go, and to have a great picture in a matter of minutes with out any hassels. Good Luck. Happy Travels. Dan & Jill

I've done the tripod and dish thing before when we had the 5th wheel and it's a pain, always seems that we get to our campground when it's dark and then I have to do the set-up before we can watch TV. I'm hoping that I can leave the portable dish mounted to a ladder mount most of the time and we can have all the stations that we already pay for in a matter of minutes. Thanks for the info.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Which Satellite Dish
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS