RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Built a new battery rack, what do you guys think?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers

 > Built a new battery rack, what do you guys think?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
hammerdown

Park City, Ut

Full Member

Joined: 04/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/08/12 10:33am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Won't work - You need hookup cables.

Huntindog

phoenix arizona USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/08/2002

View Profile



Posted: 02/08/12 03:41pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Golden_HVAC wrote:


I am not sure where you get your propane tanks refilled, yet the tank is out of date, and not the kind with automatic shut off once full. New style tanks have three lobes in the handle, not 5 as shown in your picture.


Fred.



Probably 99.9% of the time, this is true.

I know that there were some tanks made to the new standard with the old handle...I owned one. It was such a hassle convincing the fillup guys that I ended up swapping it out at a grocery store that sold the prefilled tanks.


Huntindog
2010 Palomino Sabre 30BHDS
TWO bathrooms...No waiting!
MICHELIN XPS RIBS LRE
2011 Silverado Big Dually 3500 4x4 CC D/A
EQUALIZER Hitch
100% BOONDOCKING
Check out Rusty and her pups at www.bluecollarbrittanys.com


Huntindog

phoenix arizona USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/08/2002

View Profile



Posted: 02/21/12 08:28am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

broncojim34786 wrote:

I have been thinking about this too. My trailer only has one battery. I would at least like to have 2. I dont know if the onboard charger has the capability to charge 2 batteries.
I Have one of these in my Boat......


I wonder if there is some way you could wire this in, in place of the standard onboard charger that comes in the trailer.


The onboard charger can easily charge two batteries.

In fact the charger that you have pictured would be worse (slower) than your TTs convertor.

E&J push'n wind

San Diego CA, The best climate on earth!

Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/21/12 08:41am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Nice setup, great idea! I'm with deltamaster, just a bit more and you could make room for four.

As far as the, "that's a lot of tongue wt." If you have the truck for it, not an issue!


Wisdom is the right use of knowledge. To know is not to be wise. Many men know much, and are all the greater fools for it. There is no fool so great a fool as a knowing fool. But to know how to use knowledge is to have wisdom.

Charles Haddon Spurgeon


broncojim34786

florida

New Member

Joined: 02/19/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/20/12 10:02pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have been thinking about this too. My trailer only has one battery. I would at least like to have 2. I dont know if the onboard charger has the capability to charge 2 batteries.
I Have one of these in my Boat......


I wonder if there is some way you could wire this in, in place of the standard onboard charger that comes in the trailer.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers

 > Built a new battery rack, what do you guys think?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS