RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: TV antenna problem

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > TV antenna problem

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
greg4444

Kingwood, TX

Full Member

Joined: 11/16/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/10/12 02:17pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have 5th wheel with folding TV antenna on roof, and have purchaced the digital box, but cannot get a signal. I think the wire my be separated somwhere going from roof to TV.I have checked the connection of wire to antenna, and that is fine. Anybody seen this problem before?


Greg and Barbara
2003 Ford F-250 7.3 PSD CC FX4
2002 Fleetwood Pride 30' 5'er


Two Hands

California's Central Coast

Senior Member

Joined: 09/12/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/10/12 02:28pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have you checked the antenna booster switch inside your fifth wheel. It is usually located near the front or rear television. It must be on to receive over the air channels. It must be off to get cable channels when you are connected to cable.


2011 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS
2013 Ford Edge
Retired Law Enforcement
U.S. Army 1965-1973/RVN 1968-'69

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 02/10/12 02:53pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Plus you have to do a channel scan with the box....not the tv....provided the antenna is pointed in direction of tower/transponders for best signal strength and you are within range of said tower/transponders to receive signals.

burlmart

Baton Rouge

Senior Member

Joined: 03/28/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/10/12 03:41pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have heard a case where the cable connection on the roof was rusted thru and needed to be repaired on a Class A MH - same antenna on all rigs AFAIK.


2005 Trail Lite 213 B-Plus w/ 6.0 Chevy


greg4444

Kingwood, TX

Full Member

Joined: 11/16/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/10/12 04:47pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The atenna booster is on, and I did the scan with the digital/analog box. After the scan, it says no signal. I am in big city, and know how to orientate the atenna for a good signal. The connection of the cable at atenna looks ok, not rusted. Any other thoughts?I hate to think of trying to pull a new cable...

QuietWater

Kansas City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/10/12 04:50pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you are using a digital converter box, is your TV on channel 3 or 4 (depending on the setting of the box), converter box on, antenna connected to converter box, converter box connected to TV. The antenna wall plate should have a switch on it that must be on for it to work. There should be a small light next to it that should be on.


Daniel Miller
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
1982 Tioga Arrow Class C

dsouthw524

MN

Senior Member

Joined: 12/27/2000

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/11/12 05:33am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bfor you pull a nw cable, you could vrify the cable contenuity by doing a test by disconecting both ends of the cable and running 12 volt power through the center of the cable on one end and using the opposite end with a light bulb or a VOM meter and known good ground to see if there is a break in the cable.

Hope this helps!


2004 Itasca Sunrise 36' Workhorse
2003 Suzuki XL-7 4X4 with Brake Buddy

Dutch_12078

Great Sacandaga Lake, NY

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/11/12 07:39am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

With the booster switch on, disconnect the coax at the antenna head and use a multi-meter to check for 12 volts from the center pin to the shield. The booster amplifier is located inside the antenna head. If you have 12 volts at the cable fitting, you may have a bad amplifier. Replacement heads are available.


Dutch
1995 Coachmen Catalina 322QBXL
F53 chassis, 460 V8, TST TPMS
Quadra Bigfoot EZE Levelers
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


jimj

Southern IN

Senior Member

Joined: 03/29/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/11/12 02:29pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

After trying all the above get a jumper cable and jumper from the antenna to the booster or the tv. You can run it thru the window or door to test it. Tht is how I determined that the cable was broke at the antenna

Hope this helps

JimJ





This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > TV antenna problem
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS