|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Towing

Open Roads Forum  >  Towing

> trailer sway,one more time

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
KAYAKFISH

PA.

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 02/14/12 01:52pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I recently purchased a Jayco 26rls tt.My tv is a f150 ecoboost with a
wd hitch and sway bar.I traveled to the fla. keys and back and had some issues with trailer sway when it was windy.Passing truck and trailers were not a concern.The day I left, the wind was gusting 20 to 35 mph.The front end of the tv felt like it was floating.I was thinking about adding another sway bar.I am new to towing a trailer, am sure everyone has experienced tt sway from time to time.Has anyone had the same problem under windy conditions.

jerem0621

Tennessee

View Profile

Posted: 02/14/12 02:13pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Wind makes it fun for sure. I do (and the friction sway bar manufacturers) recommend a second sway bar for trailers over 25 ft.

I run two and I am well pleased.

They are too cheap not to upgrade to the extra one. I am sure you will be pleased.

Be prepared though, you are about to be given recommendations for Hensley, dual cam, and equal-I-zer hitches with intigrated sway control from this forum. They are great too, but I, and thousands more, are satisfied with friction sway control. Nothing wrong with either though.

Thanks

Tent: Ozark Trails Cabin Tent (circa 1993)
Pack Mule: 2013 Kia Sorento

"It's Kind of Fun To Do The Impossible"
~Walt Disney~

Francesca Knowles

Port Hadlock, Washington

View Profile

Posted: 02/14/12 02:15pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator