RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Towing: Too much spring bar tension?

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Towing

Open Roads Forum  >  Towing

> Too much spring bar tension?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
jerem0621

Tennessee

View Profile

Posted: 02/21/12 06:54pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I studied the writings of one Andy Thomson from Can-Am RV in Canada. Basically I learned about the "equal squat" theory for setting up wd hitches. Basically I have achieved 1/2 inch squat on the front and rear fenders.

I have a 1100/11000 lb hidden hitch which apparently is from the late 90's

I have 6500 lb trailer with approx 900 lbs tongue weight.

Husky 1000 lb trunnions bars

Dual friction sway control. (soon to be reese dual cam)

I took my trailer to the local tire shop to have my new tires installed and decide that since I was on levelish concreteI would take a few shots of my rig.

Here is a shot of the hitch all hooked up. Other than needing some sand paper and paint I am (was) pretty confident in the set up.

Here is a side shot and the problem I noticed tonight. I think I have too much tension on the bars.

The trunnions bars are bowed. And the hitch head appeares to be torqued up. Maybe it's the angle. But I think that my thoughts on equal squat need adjusting.

Here is a similar shot with the trailer uncoupled.

With that said there is a decent amout of play between the shank and the receiver.