RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class C Motorhomes: Power outlets

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes

 > Power outlets

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next
Sponsored By:
sjcameron83

Illinois

New Member

Joined: 10/19/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 12:29pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello,
Good afternoon,

I bought a 1990 Coachmen Class C Catalina a few months ago and finally got to use it last night. The fridge, furnace and water heater wouldn't go on. I wasn't in the RV (I dropped it off for friends to use until I get back to it Friday night) and since it is cold in Chicago they plugged a small space heater in to try and warm it up until we could figure out why the propane (just filled the day before) wasn't working. Well shortly after I left in my friend's car to go home I got a call that all of the outlets stopped working. My boyfriend went up this morning and got the propane issue fixed but we can't figure out what's wrong with the power. He found the fuse box and nothing seems to be wrong. After calling around to a number of RV dealers someone was able to give me an idea about the trip on the generator. He said to reset the generator and that should get the outlets to work again. It didn't. Does anyone have ANY idea on what to do? The generator is on, the furnace and other propane items work as well as the lights inside. The outlets won't work which isn't going to be a huge issue for this weekend but I'd like to fix it when I get it back.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Samantha

CrazyTed

Hoollieville #214

Senior Member

Joined: 04/17/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 12:33pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Is there a GFCI outlet somewhere that may be tripped?


CrazyTed
www.CrazyTed.us
Va Bch, VA
2010 Husaberg FX450
2008 Triumph Rocket III
2005 Chevy 2500HD 4X4
2008 CrossRoads CrossTerrain TF36DS (Sold)
2009 Jayco Seneca HD 36MS

Finally Fulltiming

Summer: NYS Finger Lakes; Winter: Someplace warm

Senior Member

Joined: 12/08/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 12:38pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ditto on the GFCI. The one unit trips the whole line of outlets in my rig.

CrazyTed

Hoollieville #214

Senior Member

Joined: 04/17/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 01:42pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ours had two. One in the kitchen area and one in the bathroom area.

vladen

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 09/11/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 12:33pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

well the first guess is usually the inline GFCI outlet has tripped. if all the breakers are in order


Vlad's busy workings

All hope is gone



sjcameron83

Illinois

New Member

Joined: 10/19/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 01:35pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm not sure. From what I could find there was only one of them and I think it was okay. I will take another look and see how it does.

I appreaciate the help!

randrx2

Newport News, VA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/23/12 01:57pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GFCI outlet or a tripped breaker. Most people do not realize that a breaker can be tripped and still look like it is on. Turn off all the breakers (all the way off) and then turn them back on. After that, look for a GFCI.

BTW, did you know a typical GFCI will not reset if it does not have power?

Also, on space heater usage, get one that has a low setting. That way it is operating at 700-800W instead of the full 1440W. You will save possibly damaging your receptacles and wiring. It just takes longer to warm up, but once it is running, it will be fine.


When someone says, "I'm not book smart, I'm street smart." All I hear is, "I'm not real smart, I'm imaginary smart."

garym114

Bluff Dale, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/24/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 02:15pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For future reference. The fridge, furnace and water pump all require 12v power.


2000 Sea Breeze F53 V10 - CR-V Toad
Some RV batteries live a long and useful life, some are murdered.
Get a Digital Multimeter and Learn How to Use It


vladen

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 09/11/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 01:51pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

probably two, one in the kitchen, one in the bathroom, mine hides kinda behind the toilet/sink thats the one that would affect the reefer and the furnace if your setup is like my 94.

sjcameron83

Illinois

New Member

Joined: 10/19/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/23/12 02:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I did not know that they will not reset if it doesn't have power. I also didn't realize the breakers could look fine even if they were tripped. I'll have someone look when they get back to the rv.

Thank you!!

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes

 > Power outlets
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS