|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

> Battery Blow up

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Gulfstream 8378

Pleasant View

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 02/26/12 07:35pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am new to the RV world and had a house battery blow up today. If the converter is putting out to much power can it be adjusted? I had it hooked to shore power. It is on a Gulfstream 8379 coach. What would cause this to happen? Any ideas before I get ripped at a dealership.

Oasisbob

Portland Oregon 97266

View Profile

Posted: 02/26/12 07:41pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My initial guess would the terminals were reversed. That is to say ground went to positive and Positive to ground. You can check converter to battery output with a simple volt meter. Should not be more than 14 volts D.C.. There are certainly more knowledgable folks here than I am. Can you give us more info? Was the battery newly installed? Hope no one was hurt.

Oasis Bob
Wonderful wife & 4 Really Fun kids
2008 KIA Sedona 3.8L 24 valve V-6
2001 Bantam Trail Lite B-19

HAPPY TRAILS

jwmII

out west

View Profile

Posted: 02/26/12 08:22pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have to go along with the shorted diagnosis. Probably 1 cell shorted and that is enough to blow the battery when the charge is steadily put to it. The H2 builds up and it goes. Very dangerous.

jwmII

skipnchar

Topeka or somewhere else

View Profile

Posted: 02/26/12 07:46pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator