|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers

> Pulling wire through outside walls

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
jbrowning

Colorado Springs Co.

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 02/26/12 08:11pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I have a 1969 16' Coachman camping/travel trailer that I have had for about a year now. One of the owners before me has cut off the 7 wire connector and replaced it with a 4 flat wire connector for just brake lights, tail lights and turn signals. I am wanting to hook back up the 7 wire connector and am wondering if it would be quicker just to run the new wiring for the trailer brakes, clearance lights and such or should I try to hook up the old ones. They are still there in the walls because I can see in the front of the trailer where the original ones came up through the floor and then ran to the drivers side and up the wall. I started taking off a little bit of the paneling and and insulation then stopped because I didn't want to get in over my head with this.I am thinking if I start taking off the paneling I will have to take off the closet that is on that side of the trailer also. Is there an easier way of doing this for the time being. What I want to be able to do is have working, the trailer brakes, the 12 volt battery, clearance lights, and of course the brake lights, turn signals and running lights. Because I need to have this all done by the middle of March along with getting the propane lines checked out and have a new axle put on and flipped for more clearance. I only have the weekends to work on this p