|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Dinghy Towing

Open Roads Forum  >  Dinghy Towing

> Towing a 2005 Tahoe with a V10

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
gmschmitz

Brentwood, California (US)

View Profile

Posted: 03/02/12 10:31am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm new to RVing and just purchased a 2000 Coachman Class C 31' E450 with a V10. The old owner gave me a Demco Excali-Bar and a break buddy. I own a 2005 Chevy Tahoe 4x4 and from doing my research found I can tow this four down. My concern or question I have, is the Tahoe to heavy for the V10. I also found that the old owner had a class II receiver put on and it is rated at 3500 lbs. Can I change the receiver out to a Class III or IV and be good to go?

Thanks for your help!

2000 Coachmen Leprechaun 314ss
2000 Mastercraft Sport Star 19
2004 Honda CRF230F

rk911

Wheaton IL

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/02/12 10:37am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

maybe. tow weight is not just about the hitch. it's about the frame, engine torque, tranny ratio, etc. if all you needed to do to increase tow weight was to change out the hitch then we'd all have Class IV (10K) hitches installed. if you swap out the hitch you likely can tow the Tahoe but can you tow it *safely*? i'd place a call to the mfg. and speak with someone there about this.

'73,
rich, n9dko
Raking leaves....mother nature's way of getting you in shape to shovel snow!

'10 Jeep Liberty KK

PapPappy

Wilmington, NC

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/02/12 11:23am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator