|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

> Hitch and towing information needed

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
woodtic

Blackduck, MN

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/03/12 10:28am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi Guys,
I've been towing TT's (bumper pull) for a few years now. I'm looking into getting a FW. Don't know much about hitches, hitching, unhitching, TV set-up. I need a good compehensive guide to FW hitches and TV set-up. Anyone know a good site on the web for this kind of info?

I have a 2005 3/4 ton 4x4 chevy short bed crew cab with Duramax and Allison. I'm thinking about getting a trailer in the 8,000# - 10,000# dry weight range. I hear that a lot of slider hitches are very heavy. I'd like to be able to instal or remove the hitch by myself. Are there any hitches that weigh 100 pounds or less? Does the Sidewinder eliminate the need for a slider hitch? Do hitches sit lower or higher than the bed sides? I'd like to be able to use a roll-up tonneau cover while the hitch is in the truck bed. Will I need air bags or some other suspention modification? At what point would airbags be recccomended? I'd like to keep the truck close to level while driving. I do plan on making some long trips with it during the next few years so quallity and safety are a concern. Also the wife can be quite picky about ride quallity of the vehicle.

What should I avoid getting or doing? I don't trust any salesman to have my best intrests at heart. Any advice or links to usefull information would be appeciated.

Thanks