RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Dish Network In Mexico

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in RVing in Mexico and South Amer...

Open Roads Forum  >  RVing in Mexico and South America

 > Dish Network In Mexico

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
mrnoyb

Arizona

Full Member

Joined: 03/21/2011

View Profile



Posted: 03/06/12 07:35am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The Tailgater Mobile Satellite Dish System is receiving good reviews in the tech corner forum.

http://www.dish.com/technology/tv-outdoors/

Is the Dish Network accessible from locations in Mexico? Specifically Puerto Penasco, Bahia Kino, Bahia San Carlos or Puerto Vallarta.

Thank you for your feedback.

* This post was edited 03/06/12 04:26pm by mrnoyb *


2014 TMC Chateau 22E Class C
Ford E-350 SD DRW 158" Chassis w/6.8L V10


powderman426

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 06/28/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/06/12 07:46am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When talking to a fellow camper who had one, he said you set it for the state your in by using the states abriviation such as FL for Florida and it will auto aim. Now the problem I see is Dish is not authorized to provide service in Mexico. If you wern't to far south you could probably set it to the US state to your north and get it to work, as the coverage area would probably be large enough to work. On the other hand, it may just find the sat and work. Just trying to give you something to think about.

BTW I was impressed with how well it worked.


Ron & Charlotte
WD8CBT since 1976
28' Prowler & 05 Ram QC LB

I started with nothing and I still have most of it left

I never fail, I just succeed in finding out what doesn't work


moisheh

North America

Senior Member

Joined: 05/04/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/06/12 08:37am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dish does work in Kino. Probably in Penasco. Don't know about San Carlos. Even in Kino you really need something larger than the normal dish to get all the channels. Doubt it would work in PV.

Moisheh

briansue

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 10/11/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/06/12 08:49am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We had to buy a 32" dish to get reception in San Carlos - it worked there and worked as far south as Mazatlan but got harder and harder as we went further south - nothing south of Mazatlan. The further you go the larger dish you need. A guy in Playa del Carmen said he would set us up with a 48" dish but wanted something like $800 US. We see people with dishes from Canada but only for Canadian TV. A small dish will not get you very far in Mexico - don't know about Kino or Penasco. A few years ago we took a route down through Chihuahua and were able to get US TV about as far as there with our dome but beyond that nothing.


http://www.briansue2.blogspot.com

clarlk

seattle

Senior Member

Joined: 02/23/2008

View Profile



Posted: 03/06/12 10:07am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here in Mazatlan Dish used to work great, They made changes ??? So most folks that want US TV now use Direct TV with a larger Dish..

Not a big TV person but have amigos that went had to switch systems a few years ago..

toreador06

madera

New Member

Joined: 03/05/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/06/12 08:05am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I use direct tv in mexicali san felipe and el golfo de santa clara sonora don't see way you can't use dish also met a couple in el golfo and they have dish with no problem

pulsar

Lewisville, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 12/30/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/07/12 02:33am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I believe StarChoice can't legally provide service to the OP unless he has a Canadian address.

Tom

crandle

Campbell River, BC, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 08/09/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/06/12 09:48pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

StarChoice (Shaw Direct) is a Canadian system but gets all the US networks. We are using it now in Chetumal and are getting a very good signal on the portable dish.


My Mexico Blog

MEXICOWANDERER

las peƱas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/06/12 09:05pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When they changed satellites I tried a 120" (ten foot diameter) dish and got a signal strength of 53. All in Michoacan.

clarlk

seattle

Senior Member

Joined: 02/23/2008

View Profile



Posted: 03/06/12 09:16pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mexbungalows wrote:

When they changed satellites I tried a 120" (ten foot diameter) dish and got a signal strength of 53. All in Michoacan.


Now thats a dish. does the RV lean when deployed

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  RVing in Mexico and South America

 > Dish Network In Mexico
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in RVing in Mexico and South Amer...


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS