RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Adding a 2nd Ac where should i put it?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Adding a 2nd Ac where should i put it?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
Mr.Mark

California/Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 09/24/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 08:25am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cajunco, sometime you can have a separate plug for the new A/C and not have to change the whole coach to 50 amp. It all depends on how much you want to spend.

I have a 30 amp connection in my storage garage and popped the breaker the minute I turned on my second air. It might depend if both units try to start at the same time.

MM.


Mr.Mark
2008 Monaco Dynasty, 42.2 ft., 4 slides, 425 hp clean-air Cummins diesel
2013 Honda CR-V EXL, AWD, w/Nav, SMI Air Force One vacuum-assisted braking
New coach on order, (2015 Prevost Liberty Coach) arrival Nov. 2014.

Cajunco

colorado

Full Member

Joined: 06/18/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 08:28am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mark, what size are your 2 ac's?


2002 Fleetwood Bounder 36S

Mr.Mark

California/Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 09/24/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 09:16am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cajunco wrote:

Mark, what size are your 2 ac's?


Cajunco, we have 3 A/C's that are also heat pumps. I went to the Monaco site and it says that we have 'Three low-Profile Ducted 15m bTu Roof Air Conditioners with Wall Thermostat and Heat Pump (42’ and longer Floorplans Only)'

MM.

Mr.Mark

California/Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 09/24/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 09:17am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

.

Executive

California/Arizona/South Dakota

Senior Member

Joined: 02/07/2008

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 02:32pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Some say put it in the living room, some say the bedroom.....I think the best place to put it is up top, on the ROOF........just sayin....Dennis


MY SENSE OF HUMOR IS THE MAIN REASON I'LL MOST LIKELY GO TO HELL !
Dennis and Debi Fifth Year Full Timing
Monaco Executive M-45PBQ Quad Slide
525HP Cummins ISM 6 Spd Allison
2014 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ W/ ReadyBrute
CLICK HERE TO VIEW OUR TRAVEL BLOG


chuggs

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/16/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 08:40am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cajunco wrote:

Mr.Mark wrote:

Also, keep in mind that if your '88 motorhome is 30 amp, you can probably only run one air at a time.
And, I also vote for the bedroom for the new location just for balance.

MM.


I have Seen lots of guys on here say they have 2 AC's on 30amps.. but if i have to i will change to 50amp.
The only thing i will have running with both AC's are on is the TV.
I will give it a try on 30amps in hopes that will work for both ac's ..


I think most of those dual a/c units on 30 amps will probably include a Load Managment System. You can add this if you want. It basically rank orders the high draw items... It will prevent both a/c units from starting at the same time. Induction coils measure the a/c load on individual items...and for example will shed the water heater, in favor of the second a/c unit.

The 50 amp conversion would be another idea.

What I'm likely to do is to install a weather-resistant 20amp Inlet box inside the pinbox... route that to a breaker/(fuse) box inside the basement area on our 5th wheel...to protect the circuit...then wired up to the a/c unit.

In the long run...having it run this way will do two things. Prevent the cost of a replacing the 30amp system with a 50amp system...which would be umbilical, inlet, wiring to the new distribution panel, a new distribution panel, a new converter that's compatible with the 50 amp panel, etc...

The second advantage of doing it this way...it if we were running late into the night...I got tired driving...and it's Summertime HOT out. I could have a portable generator in the bed of the truck...connect the bedroom a/c alone to the generator...and spend the night along the way with minimal hassle. We've only done this once...as we usually will plan our stops to include a state park or private park with at least water/electric hookups. But it would add an option. There are also some rallies that I would like to attend that have no hookups at all...and having at least one a/c unit working on a generator for a few hours now and then would be nice. We can get by on propane for most other things.

Jim@HiTek

Gresham, OR, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/17/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 02:56pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One way those people run two ACs on 30A is that they have the newer high efficiency ACs along with a system that 'sheds' loads when one of the ACs switches on. Those systems also toggle back and forth between the ACs. This prevents too much loading when the ACs try to start up.

With a 1988 rig, it would be much easier, safer, and far less expensive to wire into the genset distribution box with a rewiring that uses an extension cord to run to a 20A circuit provided by the RV park for the 2nd AC. IMO.


Jim@HiTek
Have shop, will travel!
Visit my travel & RV repair blog site. Subscribe for emailed updates.
Fleetwood Bounder, '94
Cummins Diesel, 190HP, 36.5' with 50HP LP boost.
Black Rock Lava Park, Nevada


dragr1

Alabama

Senior Member

Joined: 08/14/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/06/12 08:15pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Subscribing as I have thought about doing the same in my 1991 Allegro


2012 Dodge 3500 SRW Crewcab 4x4 Cummins Auto
2013 Jayco 33BHTS Travel Trailer
1985 4Runner Rockcrawler
2007 Toyota Tacoma Crew Cab TRD 4x4 313k miles work truck
2002 Lexus IS300


Cajunco

colorado

Full Member

Joined: 06/18/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/06/12 09:34pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Last week i had a new 15,000 btu Dometic installed.. the old one was a 13,500
now i just wait and see if that 1 ac will cool all the coach when its 95

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Adding a 2nd Ac where should i put it?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS