RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Electrical Troubleshooting - Chalk one up for Operator Error

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Electrical Troubleshooting - Chalk one up for Operator Error

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
flysar

WA

Full Member

Joined: 07/03/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 03:37pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm going through my 91' S&S to put it up for sale and when I plugged in shore power everything was working good according to my monitor.

I turned on the pump, heard a click, and nothing was working including lights.

CB's were not tripped but I reset them with no improvement. I turned off the CB's, unplugged 110v, pulled all fuses and they were normal.

The converter is 2 years old so I am hoping there is no fault with it, does it have it's own internal fuse?

I'm handy with a multimeter but would appreciate step-by-step guidance of where to start; battery is fully charged.

* This post was last edited 03/09/12 12:53pm by flysar *   View edit history

NHSPRET

New Hampshire

New Member

Joined: 01/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 03:42pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The first thing I would check would be to make sure you have a good ground.

bobndot

NY

Senior Member

Joined: 08/21/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 04:08pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I wish i could be more help to you .
I was just reading up on this to try to learn some electrical stuff myself. I found this so far. someone says here there is a fuse on the back of the converter .

http://www.rv-coach.com/current_category........2177/Forum.100863/forum_thread_full.html

tkcrawford

Edmonton, Alberta

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2009

View Profile



Posted: 03/07/12 03:55pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Could you have heard a thermal breaker tripping? I know on my Eagle Cap the manufacturer seems to have put them all over the place. Every time I open a different cavity it seems like I find another one. If so, the breaker should automatically reset after it has a chance to cool off. Just a thought.


2004 Dodge Laramie 3500 Dually, CTD 305/555, Quad Cab, 4x4, NV5600
2008 Eagle Cap 995, 310W Solar


flysar

WA

Full Member

Joined: 07/03/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 03:57pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

NHSPRET wrote:

The first thing I would check would be to make sure you have a good ground.


Would that be from the converter to the battery or some other location?

* This post was edited 03/07/12 04:55pm by flysar *

flysar

WA

Full Member

Joined: 07/03/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 04:02pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

tkcrawford wrote:

Could you have heard a thermal breaker tripping? I know on my Eagle Cap the manufacturer seems to have put them all over the place. Every time I open a different cavity it seems like I find another one. If so, the breaker should automatically reset after it has a chance to cool off. Just a thought.


It cooled overnight and still nothing. I think the only thermal breaker I have is in the battery compartment and it appears in tact; replaced it about 4 years ago.

SkipJ

Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 11/01/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 04:14pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you have any 120 volt stuff,, does it work?
Skipj


1992 Airstream B-190 van
1989 Airstream 25' Excella Trailer
Outfitter Apex 9.5 Truck Camper Ford F-350 Diesel 4x4


ticki2

NH

Senior Member

Joined: 07/09/2008

View Profile



Posted: 03/07/12 07:09pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

flysar wrote:

tkcrawford wrote:

Could you have heard a thermal breaker tripping? I know on my Eagle Cap the manufacturer seems to have put them all over the place. Every time I open a different cavity it seems like I find another one. If so, the breaker should automatically reset after it has a chance to cool off. Just a thought.


It cooled overnight and still nothing. I think the only thermal breaker I have is in the battery compartment and it appears in tact; replaced it about 4 years ago.


Did you check to see if you have 12v on both sides of the thermal breaker in the battery compartment ?

When you say everything is out , do you mean 12v , or both 12v and 120v ?

Do you have a 12v fuse panel on or near the converter ?


'68 Avion C-11
'02 GMC DRW D/A

NHSPRET

New Hampshire

New Member

Joined: 01/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 05:45pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

flysar wrote:

NHSPRET wrote:

The first thing I would check would be to make sure you have a good ground.


Would that be from the converter to the battery or some other location?


Not having a schematic of how your camper is wired it's difficult to say how or if the inverter has a separate ground. I would start at the load side of the breakers with your multi-meter to see if power is going through the breaker(s). If there is power there, then power is likely going to the unit the breaker controls. You could further trace the power from the breaker to the unit (light, pump, etc). If there is power to those, then it's really pointing to a faulty ground issue (unless EVERYTHING has gone kafluey at the same time...unlikely).

unimogdave

Ontario

Senior Member

Joined: 02/20/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 05:53pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There is probably a ton of info on the net if you know the model number. Like others have said, Does your Fridge and\or Airconditioner, Microwave or any other 110V appliance work? You do not need batteries so I would first disconnect them and retry. Check the batteries with your voltmeter and make sure they are okay. (noting that Voltage alone not definitive, but if the Battery is only reading 11 Volts the combination of charging the battery and running the pump may have overloaded the Convertor section.

Info from the internet will tell you if there is a secret fuse location.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Electrical Troubleshooting - Chalk one up for Operator Error
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS