RV.Net Open Roads Forum: I did something but now I don't remember what "Yikes"

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > I did something but now I don't remember what "Yikes"

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 06:12pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Oh maybe 2 or 3 maybe even 4 months ago I was either at a Hotel or a campground. In order for me to get on to the WiFi there I had to do something in IE but I'll be dipped if I can remember what it was. I do remember having to open IE and open another box and either checking or un-checking a box. Now when I go to a Hotel or campground sometimes I can't get on their WiFi. All it goes is it says it is connected but there is a yellow triangle with an exclamation mark covering the bars in the lower right corner.

I have Windows 7 and use FireFox......

Thanks Lee

* This post was edited 03/07/12 08:38pm by Just Lee *


If It weren't for flash backs I would have no Memory at all
If you don't stand behind our TROOPS feel free to stand in front of them during a fire fight

2013 View Profile 24G
96 Tracker 4x4 Pushing a Mercedes.


In God We Trust


Ka Ron

Kelowna

Senior Member

Joined: 12/31/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 07:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Normally, if you left click on the bars it will open a menu with available wireless connections and you can choose which one you want to connect to.
When you connect, if there is a code you must put in that will sometimes come up in a website, where you can enter the code.

Left click on the bars and that will show you what wifi networks are available.


Join Us For A Trip Down The RV Highway


2oldman

Wilson Creek WA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 03/07/12 08:43pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The triangle means you are connected to the router but not the internet. What happens when you start IE?

Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 09:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman to be honest I didn't try using IE....

Seattle Steve I thought YOU had it, but dag-nab-it it wasn't it? Proxy Server was un-checked

Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 08:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ka Ron wrote:

Normally, if you left click on the bars it will open a menu with available wireless connections and you can choose which one you want to connect to.
When you connect, if there is a code you must put in that will sometimes come up in a website, where you can enter the code.

Left click on the bars and that will show you what wifi networks are available.


Ka Ron.....I understand what your saying and I know how to do what your talking about.

It shows connected but I can not get my mail or surf the internet. Remember there is that stupid yellow triangle with an exclamation mark.

* This post was edited 03/07/12 08:38pm by Just Lee *

Seattle Steve

Pacific NW

Full Member

Joined: 09/18/2010

View Profile



Posted: 03/07/12 09:07pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It's possible the hotel a few months ago had you change your settings to work through a proxy server. Try Tools menu, Internet Options, click on the Connections tab, then the LAN settings button. If Proxy Server is checked, uncheck it.

2oldman

Wilson Creek WA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 03/08/12 10:34am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just Lee wrote:

2oldman to be honest I didn't try using IE....
That's probably all you have to do is open your browser. It's likely a page will appear and 'welcome you'. And I find only IE works for this.. many public wifis are unfriendly with Chrome.

Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/08/12 10:53am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks 2oldman. I will give it a try. We are heading to Disneyland today and going to stay at a Hotel. If it happens using Firefox I will try IE... I don't use Chrome.......

Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 10:11pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

romore wrote:

Man, I hate it when I do that. Now, what were we talking about?


Oh maybe 2 or 3 maybe even 4 months ago I was either at a Hotel or a campground. In order for me to get on to the WiFi there I had to do something in IE but I'll be dipped if I can remember what it was. I do remember having to open IE and open another box and either checking or un-checking a box. Now when I go to a Hotel or campground sometimes I can't get on their WiFi. All it goes is it says it is connected but there is a yellow triangle with an exclamation mark covering the bars in the lower right corner.

I have Windows 7 and use FireFox......

romore

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 09:42pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Man, I hate it when I do that. Now, what were we talking about?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > I did something but now I don't remember what "Yikes"
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS