RV.Net Open Roads Forum: I did something but now I don't remember what "Yikes"

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > I did something but now I don't remember what "Yikes"

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 06:12pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Oh maybe 2 or 3 maybe even 4 months ago I was either at a Hotel or a campground. In order for me to get on to the WiFi there I had to do something in IE but I'll be dipped if I can remember what it was. I do remember having to open IE and open another box and either checking or un-checking a box. Now when I go to a Hotel or campground sometimes I can't get on their WiFi. All it goes is it says it is connected but there is a yellow triangle with an exclamation mark covering the bars in the lower right corner.

I have Windows 7 and use FireFox......

Thanks Lee

* This post was edited 03/07/12 08:38pm by Just Lee *


If It weren't for flash backs I would have no Memory at all
If you don't stand behind our TROOPS feel free to stand in front of them during a fire fight

2013 View Profile 24G
96 Tracker 4x4 Pushing a Mercedes.


In God We Trust


Ka Ron

Kelowna

Senior Member

Joined: 12/31/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 07:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Normally, if you left click on the bars it will open a menu with available wireless connections and you can choose which one you want to connect to.
When you connect, if there is a code you must put in that will sometimes come up in a website, where you can enter the code.

Left click on the bars and that will show you what wifi networks are available.


Join Us For A Trip Down The RV Highway


Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 09:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman to be honest I didn't try using IE....

Seattle Steve I thought YOU had it, but dag-nab-it it wasn't it? Proxy Server was un-checked

Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 08:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ka Ron wrote:

Normally, if you left click on the bars it will open a menu with available wireless connections and you can choose which one you want to connect to.
When you connect, if there is a code you must put in that will sometimes come up in a website, where you can enter the code.

Left click on the bars and that will show you what wifi networks are available.


Ka Ron.....I understand what your saying and I know how to do what your talking about.

It shows connected but I can not get my mail or surf the internet. Remember there is that stupid yellow triangle with an exclamation mark.

* This post was edited 03/07/12 08:38pm by Just Lee *

Seattle Steve

Pacific NW

Full Member

Joined: 09/18/2010

View Profile



Posted: 03/07/12 09:07pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It's possible the hotel a few months ago had you change your settings to work through a proxy server. Try Tools menu, Internet Options, click on the Connections tab, then the LAN settings button. If Proxy Server is checked, uncheck it.

2oldman

Quincy WA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 08:43pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The triangle means you are connected to the router but not the internet. What happens when you start IE?

2oldman

Quincy WA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 10:34am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just Lee wrote:

2oldman to be honest I didn't try using IE....
That's probably all you have to do is open your browser. It's likely a page will appear and 'welcome you'. And I find only IE works for this.. many public wifis are unfriendly with Chrome.

Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/08/12 10:53am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks 2oldman. I will give it a try. We are heading to Disneyland today and going to stay at a Hotel. If it happens using Firefox I will try IE... I don't use Chrome.......

romore

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/12 09:42pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Man, I hate it when I do that. Now, what were we talking about?

Just Lee

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 03/07/12 10:11pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

romore wrote:

Man, I hate it when I do that. Now, what were we talking about?


Oh maybe 2 or 3 maybe even 4 months ago I was either at a Hotel or a campground. In order for me to get on to the WiFi there I had to do something in IE but I'll be dipped if I can remember what it was. I do remember having to open IE and open another box and either checking or un-checking a box. Now when I go to a Hotel or campground sometimes I can't get on their WiFi. All it goes is it says it is connected but there is a yellow triangle with an exclamation mark covering the bars in the lower right corner.

I have Windows 7 and use FireFox......

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > I did something but now I don't remember what "Yikes"
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS