RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Serv Writer messed up my Odometer

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Serv Writer messed up my Odometer

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
slemnah

none

Senior Member

Joined: 10/01/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 04:51pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just remember, it's not always the repair shop's fault! I have a feeling that the responses are correct, there should be no way to erase the odometer memory without going into whatever computer stores the information.

rolnhome

Casa Grande, Az

Senior Member

Joined: 11/19/2007

View Profile



Posted: 03/08/12 05:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not using the key just turn the head lights on and in a second or two the odometer reading should show on the instrument read out display. Not knowing for sure but you should have a trip, leg, and odometer mode you can read. You can control/reset trip and leg but not odometer from the select buttons.


We're in Arizona


turninghawk

Ormond Beach, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 09/11/2003

View Profile



Posted: 03/08/12 05:34pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good advice from several posters here.

But regardless, even if paid for by the service center, the LAST thing you want is a zeroed-out odometer, or a replacement odometer.

Either being the case, when it comes time to sell, the vehicle must be sold as "true miles unknown" which, as you may well know, will effect its value BIG TIME.

Best of luck in getting the problem resolved.

JcoFS3500

East Central OK

Senior Member

Joined: 10/26/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 05:48pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Does this mean that you're back to a "new motorhome" warranty?


'93 Jayco FS3500 TT behind a '92 Dodge D250 powered by 5.9L Cummins

'94 Vogue Prima Vista powered by 8.3L Cummins w/ 6spd Allison

hershey

Albuquerque,(fulltime) NM, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/04/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 06:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for most of the replies.
I do know that the computer still has the actual mileage on it. 69,000+. That still appears on my Silverleaf Computer program just as it has for the 7 years I've owned it. And it continues to work properly.
I'm pretty familiar with the odometer. Having used it and cussed it for over 7 years because you have to use a flashlight to read it. I know that it is indeed programable for kilometers or miles. I know that it has one trip meter and one total miles od0meter. I all the years I've reset the trip odometer, I've never, never had a problem with it. I've never had an instance to where I've lost the total mileage.

As a matter of fact, when I purchased the MH it was registering in kilometers and when I noticed it, a fellow camper showed me how to hold the rocker down to get it back to miles.
I'm in agreement that it shouldn't be that easy to zero out an odometer. But I also have a computer and sometimes things happen that shouldn't so its not impossible for me to think that the odometer hickuped. Perhaps re-booted? I'd be happy to find a second trip odometer that suddenly surfaced, but so far I'm stuck with a new zero start mileage on it.


hershey - albuquerque, nm
Someday Finally Got Here
My wife does all the driving - I just get to hold the steering wheel.
Superman was an illegal alien.
Expedition - Suzuki Grand Viagra

NASCAR 14 - 99



tahiti16

Camarillo, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/23/2008

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 09:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I wonder if it is somehow stuck on tripmeter and not moving to odometer?


Ray, Cheryl & of course Miss Molly the four-legged child

2006 Dolphin 36' F53 V10 5 speed auto 2 slides 7.5 KW genset


GPWayne

Lake Stevens. WA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/03/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 11:21pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One short press of the switch (less than 3 seconds) should change from trip to odometer.

* This post was edited 03/08/12 11:39pm by GPWayne *

JALLEN4

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 10/02/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/09/12 05:19am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What I would like to know is why you think the Service writer "messed up my odometer". Evidently,just by pushing a button on the dash. There are a number of both State and Federal laws about altering odometers and I will guarantee you there is no way a simple dash button will re-set any vehicle to zero by design. Either there is a function in the system you do not yet understand or the odometer broke and he just happened to be the button pusher when it happened.

I once had a customer arrive in the service lane with a rod knocking. Once written up, the porter started the car to move it. The engine let go and threw a rod through the block. The owner of course blamed us and wanted a new engine free because we were the ones who happened to start it. Six months later, he paid both his and our legal bills and towed his car away.

hershey

Albuquerque,(fulltime) NM, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/04/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 09:40pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

tahiti16 wrote:

I wonder if it is somehow stuck on tripmeter and not moving to odometer?

That sounds very reasonable. I'm going to spray it with contact cleaner tomorrow and see if I get any results with that.

ArchHoagland

Clovis, CA, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 11/28/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/12 10:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Is it recording miles now and how many does it show?

It should be less than 200 miles.


2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD
Workhorse W22 8.1 Gas Allison 1000, 7.1 mpg

2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
US Gear Brakes


This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Serv Writer messed up my Odometer
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS