|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

> Amature radio mount location in a Class A

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
JcoFS3500

East Central OK

View Profile

Posted: 03/08/12 06:54pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Newbie here just getting started in the amateur radio hobby. Planning to mount a 2-meter mobile transceiver in our Class A. My question is, is there any reason to consider mounting the transceiver in the drivers cockpit or should I just go ahead and mount it near the dinette? Mounting in the cockpit area would only be convenient if using it while driving whereas the dinette area would be more convenient for use while parked.

Thoughts, suggestions, & considerations welcome.

'93 Jayco FS3500 TT behind a '92 Dodge D250 powered by 5.9L Cummins

'94 Vogue Prima Vista powered by 8.3L Cummins w/ 6spd Allison

WyoTraveler

Northwest, Wyoming

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/08/12 07:04pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Congratulations. Assuming you have the U.S. repeater book that ARRL puts out.

If you monitor it when parked and it is in the dash it still would be convenient. I never sat hours and hours on 2 meters like I normally did on HF. If it were 2 meters and HF I could have suggested the dinette area. I'm confused I thought your post was in the MH area. Is it MH or TT? If it is a TT I think I would have 2 antennas. One for the TT and one for the TV.

73s

2013 Monaco Monarch
2012 Jeep Wrangler
AC6CV, ex-WN8RUR, ex-W8RUR, ex-K7RIO, ex-WB6GBR since 1954
Commercial 1st class Radio Telephone, & Telegraph certificate
ARRL 35 WPM Certificate.