|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers

> Using an 18 volt electric drill for stabilizing jacks

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
beemerphile1

I'm 58, I'm not a

View Profile

Posted: 03/09/12 06:38am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ryobi drills are the Home Depot store brand and are a cheap product. Their advantage is that they are inexpensive. If you have the Ryobi with the Ni-Cad battery they aren't very strong. There are much better brands and it makes a difference, I have lots of experience with a lot of brands.

I bought a Ryobi 18v Lithium impact driver for using with the jacks.

A poor man seeks riches, a rich man seeks power, but a wise man seeks contentment.

2006 Weekend Warrior FK1900/1998 Ford E150 4.6L = 8MPG
2009 Aliner Sport/2009 Pontiac Vibe 1.8L = 22MPG

JRS & B

Florida/Michigan

View Profile

Posted: 03/09/12 06:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I agree that the screw drive might need cleaning.

The jacks do accumulate a lot of dirt on the road. If you greese them they attract dust and debris. If you don't lubricate them they get rusty.

Mine got so bad I used a 1/2 inch drive 110 volt drill and a can of penetrating oil, and ran the jacks completely up and down about a dozen times. Now they work better than new.

sheltonlp

Washington State

View Profile

Posted: 03/09/12 06:52am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My Milwaukee 18v Impact Drill works great...haven't tried a non-impact style drill, maybe that's the key.

2012 Evergreen Everlite 32RBK-DS
2011 Toyota Tundra 5.7 Rock Warrior

the_happiestcamper

Mount Pleasant, SC

View Profile