RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: satellite box

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > satellite box

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
racer99

channahon

Senior Member

Joined: 02/16/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/10/12 07:05am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

THANK YOU steelpony 5555 found the little button you talked about and bigger than sh-- I got 18 channels and by the way I already bought a flat screen but I guess that little switch (amplifier) did the job--Thanks again--next step is to figure out how to get the NASCAR races--RICH

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/10/12 10:26am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

An INVERTER converts 12volts DC (or some other DC voltage but for RV use it is 12) to 120vac to power a TV or other "mains powered' stuff.

A CONVERTER (Sounds a lot alike) converts one thing to another..

Normally when we talk of converters we are talking about power conversion (120vac to 12vdc) but in this case.. It is Television conversion.

Also called Digital adapters. A DIGITAL TV CONVERTER scans for Digital broadcasts, then lists them then converts them from ATSC to NTSC usually on channel 3 or 4, and sends them on to the TV.

Click Here for an example

NOTE: the example I found.. Got some bad reviews. Which is why I say "Example"

I have two one is a DTV-Pal, no longer made it appears, it was from Echostar (DishNetwork) the remote says DISH on it) the other is an Insignia from Best Buy, this is identical in all way save the paint job to the Zenith, Zenith used to be a quality line but now is a property of LG enectronics and I have NEVER had an LG product I was 100% happy with.. That said the Insignia does work well, provided you change channels every once in a while.. leave it on the same "Service" (They are called services now) for a week and it locks up and you have to unplug it. I'm told newer ones do not do that.

NOTE: Get a converter with analog pass through, this is important.

Installing the converter....

Some folks with more than one tv try to do it this way.

Antenna----Converter---Switch box===-Televisoins

This does not work, it kills the antenna and may damage the converter.

Antenna----Switch--*--Converter---Television is the proper way to do it.
Note. if you have more than one TV the second is from *----Converter2---TV2
*-----COnverter 3----TV3

My Install Antenna--Switch---Converter---ReplayTV DVR---TV


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > satellite box
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS