|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

> battery draining

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
Retiredblade

Western, Pa

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/24/12 01:51pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dougrainer wrote:

In 33 years as an RV tech, I have NEVER seen an Alternator cause a drain/draw on a battery (Coach or Chassis). That said, The Alternator CANNOT cause a drain on the coach batteries at all, as the coach batteries are NEVER connected to the Alternator unless the engine is ON. Now to all on these forums, when discussing batteries the CORRECT terminology is COACH for the RV/house batteries and CHASSIS for the Engine batteries. That makes for less confusion, instead of stating "Main" batteries as some will think Main can be Coach or Chassis. You need to charge each battery bank seperatly and then take a voltage reading WITHOUT shore power connected. IF you do NOT get at least 12.6 to 12.8 volts on EACH battery(not both or all batteries in the bank interconnected) then the battery is BAD. ONE bad battery can cause the others to discharge and if ONE is bad you ALWAYS replace all batteries in the set. GOOD batteries fully charged CANNOT drain down in 2 days even the Chassis battery. ANY draw that would drain a Chassis battery in 2 days will be easy to find just by looking for a appliance on the chassis side that is on. SMALL draws will not drain a GOOD fully charged battery in 2 days. Small draws on a COACH battery bank will not drain in 2 days. Even an INVERTER on Standby will not drain Coach batteries in 2 days but an Inverter left ON will. Dou