RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: No power to Directv dish

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > No power to Directv dish

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
fpresto

Maryland

Senior Member

Joined: 08/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/08/12 06:34am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As kpmacac said it will not work through the cable TV inlet. Especially if you have the little amplifier in line. If you bypass that it will work. Do a search there are several threads, some with pictures, on how to bypass it.


USN Retired
2007 Cedar Creek 30 RLSTS
2008 F350, DRW, V-10, B&W hitch,
Pressure Pro, JT Strongarms

Clay L

Palisade CO

Senior Member

Joined: 07/01/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/08/12 12:35pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There are several ways to do it. Winegard recommends the diagram below.

Making the connections the way Winegard recommends does not require adding any coax connectors to the wallplate.

Note that this assumes your front TV is connected to the coax connector on the front of the wall plate. If yours isn't, there should be a splitter in the line labeled "To second TV" that will send the signal to both the front and rear TVs (if you have two TVs).

What Winegard calls a "power supply" below is the wall plate with the antenna booster switch and LED showing when the amplifier is on.

If you still want to be able to use the external cable in for both cable TV and the external dish just add an A/B switch to switch the incoming coax from the sat receiver "sat input" to the sat receiver "TV input".


One thing not shown in the diagram is using the RCA type connections or the better quality "component" type output or the HDMI (best) output between the sat receiver and the TV.
That will yield a much better picture with no interference from any local channels. You have to select a "video in" with your TV menu instead of using channel 3 (for example).
Some newer satellite receivers don't have a coax output so you may have to use HDMI or component connections.

If you have a video distribution box that will have to be taken into account.




Clay (WA5NMR), Lee (Wife), Katie & Kelli (cats).

Fixed domicile after 1 year of snowbirding and eleven years Full Timing in a 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N, Workhorse chassis, Honda Accord toad

Beaker

Brevard, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 07/28/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/08/12 08:34pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Quote:

Only problem now is that the rv cable/satellite connection doesn't work for the satellite.


You have a new RV, you should not have to do any rewiring.
Check and see if you have 2 outputs near your entertainment center. The sat. signal does not usually work thru the tv outlet. Also, turn off the signal booster for the antennae. With most of today's rvs, the signal will run thru the cable line. Mine does. My old one wouldn't

If you cannot get it to work, the diagram someone posted will do the job.


2008 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
2010 Cruiser 26RK

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > No power to Directv dish
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS