|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

> Question about campground power. TT vs the rest

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
Racer78

Northeast Pa

View Profile

Posted: 04/09/12 10:23am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi. I'm new to tt camping and had an issue this past weekend. A "super "bohemeth" class 3 unit pulled in next to us. After he set up and plugged in to power pole, our power kept going on/off, flickering, etc. I began to fear possible damage to my power panel (it was clicking on/off, buzzing and "resetting?". Is this normal? Should I be concerned? Thanks in advance.

dqdick

Council Grove, KS

View Profile

Posted: 04/09/12 10:29am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not normal and you need to get a EMS system to shut off the power if it's too high or too low before damage to your appliances occurs. An EMS system will also function as a surge suppressor so while they're pricey they do two things you need at once.

Dick and Joyce
2010 Montana 3665RE
Dodge 2500HD Maxi Cab Laramie Edition
Diego, Norm, & Bitsy

bikendan

Napa, Cal.

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 04/09/12 10:34am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Racer78 wrote:

A "super "bohemeth" class 3 unit pulled in next to us.

what's a Class 3 unit? do you mean Class A motorhome?

agree about the EMS unit, if you use hookups a lot. we dry camp mostly so we don't need one.
but it could have been a poor power pole or weak campground power supply and have nothing to do with your neighbor.