Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Chevy 6 L engine in short Class C vs Ford V8 or V10

Posted By: stevekk on 05/01/12 08:30am

I am new to all this.
Been looking for my first RV ever and want a short Class C.

I see most New and not very old Class C have the Ford chassis with either the V8 or V10.

Anyway... I see a used 23 foot 2008 Fleetwood class C on ebay.

It has the Chevy 6 liter engine.

Is this engine OK? Coach has less than 4000 miles on it.
How does it compare to the Ford? should I stay with Ford?
Owner claims 14 to 19 mpg. Can this be true?
Someone told me the Chevy engines will get better gas mileage than Ford?

thanks again to everyone.

Posted By: Bob86ZZ4 on 05/01/12 09:06am

Ford vs. Chevy debate, no right answer there. I'm a Chevy man. I'd never buy a Ford. The 6.0 Chev motor is very solid. A great motor. That seller is a liar about 14-19 mpg. What else is he lying about? I'd question that. The 6.0 motor is not known as a thrifty gas sipper. I have a 6.0 in my conversion van. Van weighs 7000 lbs. Best mileage I've ever gotten is 16 on a highway trip. Regularly gets 12 mpg combined driving. Pulling my enclosed car trailer (about 8k total weight) gets 9-10 mpg. The other thing to consider is the Chev. trans and rear diff that comes with that 6.0. They are both heavy duty and top notch. Forget about what mileage you're going to get. That's not important. Keeping it on the road, not in the shop, is.

'03 United Specialties truck conversion built on Freightliner FL112 chassis, Cat C-12 motor, 10 speed autoshift, 430h/p, 1650 torque, love the truck conversion.

Posted By: rjstractor on 05/01/12 09:08am

The 6.0 should be a good match for that size rig. The Ford V10 has better low end and IMO is better for moving heavy loads. (I own rigs with both engines, so no irrational brand bias here)