RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Computer/Wifi Help?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Computer/Wifi Help?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
cm11599ps

Long Island

Senior Member

Joined: 07/18/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/19/12 12:50pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I get new cell service at my job and there is no wifi or internet in the building that I can use. Luckily, there's a town baseball field across the street and my cable provider has a wifi signal being broadcast there. I haven't been able to access that wifi using the built in card in my laptop at work. Last week I bought a hi gain antennae. It connects via usb to my laptop and the other end looks like a mini satelitte dish. I simply point the dish in the direction of the ballfield and I was finally able to accecss the cable wifi from my job. It's been working well for a few days now, no problems.

Now that that problem is solved, I have a question. Is there some sort of way that I can rebroadcast that wifi signal at my job? There are a few people there who can't use their smartphones in the building because of work. Is there some sort of broadcast card or something I could use?

The reason I ask this is because of camping too. I can bring my laptop and the satelitte hi gain antennae to a campground to get wifi. That works well for my laptop but again, I'd love if my family could also be able to jump on that connection so they could use their smart phones and ipads and such. Right now it's hit or miss with the signal. Sometimes you can be logged on, other times your not when using the devices themselves to access wifi. When I use my laptop with the dish then the signal stays steady and strong. It would be great if I could somehow rebroadcast that signal for my family.





2oldman

Vegas, baby

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 06/19/12 12:56pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cm11599ps wrote:

There are a few people there who can't use their smartphones in the building because of work.
What does that mean?

A smartphone can be a hotspot.. but you want to rebroadcast a wifi signal?

donn0128

Pronounced Ore-gun

Senior Member

Joined: 04/21/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/19/12 12:59pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Wilson has all sorts of amplifiers on their web site


Don,Lorri,Max (The Rescue Flat Coat Retriever?)
The Other Dallas


fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 06/19/12 01:00pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you're using Windows 7 you can set up your laptop as a WiFi hotspot.


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

cm11599ps

Long Island

Senior Member

Joined: 07/18/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/19/12 01:25pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman wrote:

cm11599ps wrote:

There are a few people there who can't use their smartphones in the building because of work.
What does that mean?

A smartphone can be a hotspot.. but you want to rebroadcast a wifi signal?


Isn't there a fee involved in that? The laptop would have XP.

2oldman

Vegas, baby

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 06/19/12 02:22pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cm11599ps wrote:

Isn't there a fee involved in that? The laptop would have XP.
Yes, hotspots have a fee. You didn't answer my question about smartphones and work.

XP? How old is the laptop?

cm11599ps

Long Island

Senior Member

Joined: 07/18/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/19/12 03:32pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Oh, I want to say the laptop is 7 years old or so. I meant that they can't use the smartphones at work because there is no wifi and no cell service in the building. The only way I have been able to get wifi at work is by using a special wifi receiving dish. My wifi receiver

* This post was edited 06/19/12 03:44pm by cm11599ps *

sch911

Rochester Hills, MI

Senior Member

Joined: 04/13/2003

View Profile



Posted: 06/19/12 04:21pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Before you do any of these things make sure your employer is ok with this! Where I work I'd be escorted to the door for violating company policies on internet.


OEM Auto Engineer
2003 Damon Challenger 348 Class A - F53 Triton V10
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4x4 V8 Toad


cm11599ps

Long Island

Senior Member

Joined: 07/18/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/19/12 04:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

LOL, I'm not using their internet at all or really going online. It's more for texting and listening to internet radio while working. No one has access to a computer at work.

2oldman

Vegas, baby

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 06/19/12 05:26pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cm11599ps wrote:

I get new cell service at my job
You must mean I get "no" cell service...

cm11599ps wrote:

No one has access to a computer at work.
No cell, no wifi, no computers.. what kind of a business is this??

* This post was edited 06/19/12 05:35pm by 2oldman *

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Computer/Wifi Help?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS