|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

> I've Cancelled my DirecTV Service

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Sponsored By:
mr. ed

Madison, SD (but usually elsewhere)

View Profile

Posted: 07/12/12 05:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First, let me begin by stating that I have NO complaints against the service per se. I've always been treated well by customer service and the picture quality has been flawless. I've been considering cancelling the service for a few years now since many RV parks I visit already have cable and over-the-air programming is also available. I felt that the approx $65 I was spending each month was not really worth it, although I have no regrets that I've been a customer for the past 15 years. Besides, I didn't watch most of the channels anyway.

It took some hesitation on my part to cancel because I do enjoy TV in the evenings while eating dinner and not every area I visit has decent programming available. For example, at my winter location in Yuma, AZ the local programming is close to abominable (at least in my opinion). If I wind up at an RV park in Yuma that doesn't have cable TV I'm going to have to learn to tolerate the local programs or read a good book instead .

Anyhow, it's nice to save the $65/month. That'll buy me about 1/2 tank of fuel

Mr. Ed (fulltiming since 1987)

2007 Hitchhiker II LS Model 29.5 LKTG
2007 Dodge Ram 3500/6.7 CTD/QC/4X4/SB/SRW/6-speed man/Big Horn edition

2oldman

Wilson Creek WA

View Profile

Posted: 07/12/12 05:29pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm keeping mine. Even at $125.

brobox

Sunny SW. Florida

View Profile