RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Hooking up to cable tv in RV Park question

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Hooking up to cable tv in RV Park question

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
HawkTX

McKinney, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/12 04:22pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I usually camp at ATV parks, but on an upcoming trip we will be staying at several parks that offer cable tv. Do I only need a basic cable to hook up from their outlet to mine on the camper? Anything else I need?


2012 Keystone Raptor 300MP Velocity Toy Hauler - SOLD
2012 Ford F-250 - SOLD

HappyKayakers

Malabar FL

Senior Member

Joined: 11/28/2005

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 07/29/12 04:25pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Most places you just need the cable, although I did work at one place in south FL where you also needed a box. The office had a stock of them from the cable company and would issue as needed. I carry a 50' coax so I can reach all the strange cable locations.


Joe and Dakota, the wacko cat
Fulltiming since 2006
2006 Dodge 3500 QC CTD SRW Jacobs Exhaust brake
2006 Heartland Bighorn 3600RL, MorRyde suspension, TrailAir pinbox
http://happykayakers.com/


rk911

Wheaton IL

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/29/12 04:25pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

a length of RG-6 or RG-59 coaxial cable and a TV capable of tuning to cable channels is all you need.


'73,
rich, n9dko
Every retired man needs three things....a good truck, a good dog and a working wife
_________________________________


_________________________________
2000 Itasca Suncruiser 35U
'46 Willys CJ2A
'03 Jeep Wrangler TJ
'10 Jeep Liberty KK



rk911

Wheaton IL

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/29/12 04:54pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rolnhome wrote:

I would recommend 6 cable. It handles the digital broadcast much better. The 59 has a lot of static/snow.


if you have to buy a length of cable then choose RG-6 but if you have a length of RG-59 laying around i'd just use that. for as often as you'll likely use it 59 will be fine for your stay.

rolnhome

Casa Grande, Az

Senior Member

Joined: 11/19/2007

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/12 04:30pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would recommend 6 cable. It handles the digital broadcast much better. The 59 has a lot of static/snow.


We're in Arizona


bob213

Fresno, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/09/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/29/12 05:22pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just remember to turn your antenna booster off before scanning for channels.

Gary.

Yukon, OK

Senior Member

Joined: 12/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/30/12 11:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just remember as old-biscuit said, you have to go into your TV Set-up menu and select Cable. I keep forgetting to do this and get frusterated because, I can't get the channels.

wbwood

Mooresville/Troutman, NC area

Senior Member

Joined: 05/01/2005

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 07/29/12 05:38pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You may come across places that even have the cable ere for you to use. Ocean lakes in myrtle beach does this. Not at big of a deal you would think. But after you are there setting up, it sure is nice not to have to dig your own cable out of the storage and then the same upon packing up.


Brian
2013 Thor Chateau 31L


rolnhome

Casa Grande, Az

Senior Member

Joined: 11/19/2007

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/12 06:42pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rk911 wrote:

rolnhome wrote:

I would recommend 6 cable. It handles the digital broadcast much better. The 59 has a lot of static/snow.


if you have to buy a length of cable then choose RG-6 but if you have a length of RG-59 laying around i'd just use that. for as often as you'll likely use it 59 will be fine for your stay.


I would get RG6. For digital TV Rg56 gives crappy reception. Trust me on this one. I learned the hard way. Took me two seasons to figure out why my reception sucked.

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/12 05:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hook up cable from cg connection to your cable connection on trailer
If you have a distribution box: turn power off & select 'cable' button

Swap TV to 'cable' input.....menu/tv tuner/cable vs antenna
Auto scan for cable channels

Select 'delete' or 'skip' and then get rid of about 20 + junk channels so that you can watch those that worth tuning in.


2007 RAM 3500 QC LB SRW 5.9L CTD 48re 4:10 4K in bed 'quiet genny'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
Hit the Road Debt Free & Clear April '07
Came off the road still Debt Free & Clear Jan. '14


This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Hooking up to cable tv in RV Park question
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS